LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2013, 11:09 AM   #1
kfritz
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: Slackware, OpenBSD
Posts: 70

Rep: Reputation: 19
Dual external monitors on Lenovo T420s


I have 2 external monitors connected to a docking-station for the above mentioned laptop. Both monitors are identical Dell 1280x1024, one is connected to the DVI connector, the other to the VGA connector (and routed through a KVM switch).

I've mastered enough xrandr-fu to get the first monitor and the laptop display to work together with either being primary. Here's the `xrandr` output:
Code:
# xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 2880 x 1024, maximum 8192 x 8192
LVDS1 connected 1600x900+1280+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 310mm x 174mm
   1600x900       60.0*+
   1024x768       60.0  
   800x600        60.3     56.2  
   640x480        59.9  
VGA1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
HDMI3 connected 1280x1024+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 376mm x 301mm
   1280x1024      60.0*+   75.0  
   1152x864       75.0  
   1024x768       75.1     60.0  
   800x600        75.0     60.3  
   640x480        75.0     60.0  
   720x400        70.1  
DP2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
DP3 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
What I want is the laptop screen (LVDS1) to be off, and the 2 external monitors active. I can't figure out which output to use, or how to turn it on. Hate to say this, but this works fine in Windows 7.

Any hints?

Thanks.
 
Old 02-27-2013, 02:21 PM   #2
Habitual
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2011
Distribution: Slack14_64_Multilib
Posts: 3,042
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 734Reputation: 734Reputation: 734Reputation: 734Reputation: 734Reputation: 734Reputation: 734
Code:
xrandr --output LVDS1 --off
as an 'example'
 
Old 02-27-2013, 02:49 PM   #3
kfritz
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: Slackware, OpenBSD
Posts: 70

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 19
Yes, that is half of the solution -- turning off the laptop screen. What eludes me is getting the second external monitor activated. That is: "xrandr --output [VGA1|HDMI1|DP1|HDMI2|DP2|DP3] --right-of HDMI3" does nothing for me.
 
Old 02-27-2013, 02:54 PM   #4
chess
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2002
Location: 127.0.0.1
Distribution: Slackware, OpenBSD, FreeBSD
Posts: 728

Rep: Reputation: 168Reputation: 168
Try adding either --auto or --mode (and the mode) to the external outputs. Here is what I do on my X200s and external monitor:

xrandr --output LVDS --off --output HDMI-2 --auto
 
Old 02-27-2013, 06:54 PM   #5
kfritz
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: Slackware, OpenBSD
Posts: 70

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 19
xrandr --output LVDS1 --off --output HDMI3 --auto

This turns off my laptop screen, and activates the first external monitor. I can't get the second external monitor to do anything. I can add a third "--output" clause with any of the other recognized, but "disconnected", displays to no effect.

I think the problem is that X is not seeing the second external display.
 
Old 02-27-2013, 07:08 PM   #6
kfritz
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Distribution: Slackware, OpenBSD
Posts: 70

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 19
KVM switch is the problem?

I unplugged the second monitor from the KVM switch, and jacked it directly into the VGA on the docking station, and it now does exactly what I want.

xrandr --output HDMI3 --auto --output VGA1 --auto --right-of HDMI3

If I swap it back through the KVM, the second display is black, but I can move the mouse there, and can get parts of windows to drag there, but it's not usable. Weird.

EDIT: Marking this thread as solved -- I'll search for a solution to recognizing a monitor through a cheapo KVM as a separate problem.

Last edited by kfritz; 02-28-2013 at 10:30 AM. Reason: Marking as solved...
 
Old 03-05-2013, 05:06 PM   #7
OscarMike
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2013
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I have this same problem with my X230 but I'm in a Lenovo Series 3 Docking station, Have you come up with any other solutions?
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Blank screen on Lenovo T420s during boot kfritz Slackware 6 01-06-2012 07:58 AM
[SOLVED] Dual monitors: changing main monitor from LDVS in laptop to VGA external ecoslacker Slackware 2 09-14-2011 02:08 PM
Dual monitors: inbuilt graphics card & external graphics card fanofai Linux - Newbie 1 06-07-2009 07:31 AM
Using dual monitors/dual heads displays a black screen (Fedora 6) ttnunam Linux - General 4 04-21-2007 12:50 AM
Setting up Dual Monitors on GeForce 6600GT dual DVI card. monkiidansu Linux - Hardware 1 09-29-2005 02:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration