LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-22-2004, 01:42 PM   #1
Makaelin
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 93

Rep: Reputation: 15
Mozilla Profile Problem


Okay, I performed a search but didn't find anything making reference to this problem. So if this has been asked before, I apologize.

Whenever I try to open an external link with Mozilla, the profile page comes up and tells me to select one, saying I cannot use default because its already in use (links from GAIM are the best example). I am using Mozilla 1.7, installed to the default /usr/local/mozilla.

Anyone have any idea how I can make it just use the copy that is currently running? I've got Tab Extensions installed, so technically an external link should just open as another tab. Also, its not the extension causing the problem, as it did that before I installed it.

Thanks in advance.
 
Old 06-22-2004, 01:49 PM   #2
david_ross
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Scotland
Distribution: Slackware, RedHat, Debian
Posts: 12,047

Rep: Reputation: 67
There have been lots of posts about this and plenty of scripts posted to help solve th problem - an example is:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...175#post993175
or:
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...620#post534620
 
Old 06-22-2004, 01:53 PM   #3
Makaelin
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 93

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
I figured I was an idiot and didn't search the right areas. I love cold medication. Thanks, David, for the information and quick response. Truly appreciated!
 
Old 06-22-2004, 02:08 PM   #4
david_ross
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Scotland
Distribution: Slackware, RedHat, Debian
Posts: 12,047

Rep: Reputation: 67
No problem. For the full mozilla remote specification see:
http://mozilla.org/unix/remote.html
 
Old 06-22-2004, 02:16 PM   #5
Makaelin
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Posts: 93

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
That second link you provided in your first post has a good script. It seems to work fine, except that it just opens a new blank tab (or window, depending on your setup), instead of actually carrying through the external link. Going to have to dig deeper and try to figure out how to make it actually open the link, but at least its not prompting me for the profile manager anymore.

Thanks again!
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mozilla - profile in use jrtayloriv Linux - Newbie 3 02-09-2005 01:03 AM
Mozilla 1.4 and profile manager linux_pioneer Linux - Software 5 07-22-2004 01:28 PM
Mozilla 1.0 : problem with Profile Manager manaskb Linux - Software 15 03-16-2004 05:52 PM
Mozilla 1.4 Multiple Instance/Profile problem rryjew Linux - Newbie 2 11-30-2003 01:01 AM
Mozilla user profile darin3200 Linux - Software 4 06-25-2003 10:00 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration