LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - General
User Name
Password
Linux - General This Linux forum is for general Linux questions and discussion.
If it is Linux Related and doesn't seem to fit in any other forum then this is the place.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 10-15-2002, 05:45 PM   #1
Venomous Squirr
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Total Newbie, pleae help me out

Well I just installed Linux Red Hat 8.0 today, and I really like it. Mostly just for the change of pace. Well anyways I have two problem.

First I can't get my wheel mouse to work, specificly the wheel part. Ive searched google and everything and found some stuff but it's super confusing for a newb like myself. Is there an easy way to do it? Or can somone explain the hard way to do it to me?

The second thing is I cannot get my sound blaster Audigy Gamer to work. It shows that it is detected, along with my onboard sound (which is disabled in bios) when I go to the gnome menu (start like thing) >> System Settings >> Sound Card Detection. But when I try to play a test sound nothing works (on either of them).

I have found the drivers from sourceforge (http://sourceforge.net/project/showf...group_id=44773) then I try to follow these instructions (http://sourceforge.net/docman/displa...group_id=44773), but I get tottaly lost. I dont know if I have the source go to my kernal (step 1). I don't know how to untar (step 2). I can't do anything. I really want to give Linux a fair shot, but I don't kow what the heck im doing. Can someone please help me out here? If you want you can message me on AIM at Venomous Squirrel.

Maybe just regular SB drivers will work?

Thanks in advance

Old 10-15-2002, 06:43 PM   #2
Venomous Squirr
LQ Newbie

Original Poster
No one?

Old 10-15-2002, 07:07 PM   #3
Thymox

Distribution: Mostly Debian based systems

Rep: Reputation: 64
Welcome to LQ, Squirrel.