LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Laptop and Netbook
User Name
Password
Linux - Laptop and Netbook Having a problem installing or configuring Linux on your laptop? Need help running Linux on your netbook? This forum is for you. This forum is for any topics relating to Linux and either traditional laptops or netbooks (such as the Asus EEE PC, Everex CloudBook or MSI Wind).

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 05-31-2004, 09:22 PM   #1
azzurro

Rep: Reputation: 15
Can someone with a 1400x1050 SXGA+ screen help me out?

Hello all,

I'm new to Linux and am very impressed by this friendly community.
I'm having an issue that I hope can be easily resolved.

My screen will just not go to a higher resolution (it is a 1400x1050 SXGA+ screen that operates at 60 Hz). I've been searching left and right for a couple of very frustrating days to try and find the horz. and vert. sync rates that I should use, but have had no luck. I've even tried out random ranges, to no avail.

I have a Voodoo m355. This uses the Compal CL50 chassis. Compal makes the laptops for quite a few OEMs, so I was thinking that there may be a good chance that the settings from anyone else's 1400x1050 screens may be the same.

Can anyone with one of these screens post their sync rates?

Any help is much appreciated.

Old 06-01-2004, 02:18 AM   #2
pevelius

Distribution: Debian, Familiar, OS X

Rep: Reputation: 16
the key is to set the correct display adapter to your xorg.conf/XFree86.conf (you can choose it from gnome/kde with graphical tools). at least on my machine vesa didnīt do all resolutions. after setting that:

"(snip)
### HorizSync 31.5 - 67.0
VertRefresh 59.9 - 60.1

(snip)
Depth 24
Modes "1400x1050" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"