LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2003, 02:49 PM   #1
dolvmin
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Distribution: Red Hat 7.2/8/9, Fedora Core 1/2/3, Smoothwall, Mandrake 7.0/10, Vecter 4, Arch 0.6, EnGuarde
Posts: 289

Rep: Reputation: 30
Latency Resolve -Server/Router Setup


Hey folks. I have a problem and I need your help. I need to change the way my LAN behaves but I am uncertain of the idea I have is a working idea. Further more, if it was a working idea, I need the aid of someone who knows much about Linux and Networking.



My Problem:

I have a LAN that works with my router as the gateway. I currently run a game server using Neverwinter Nights and I have concluded that there is latency causing problems for my players. I’ve noticed if I run the server directly to the cable modem, this latency issue is resolved. However, I must provide access to the WAN for all the computers in my house.



My Equipment:

-ISP Settings

Dynamic IP (1 IP Address)
Gateway is using Spoofed IP addresses


-Room 1

Cable Modem
Linksys router –Gateway (using UTP Cat. 5e)
Computer running Windows XP Pro
Computer running Linux Red Hat 9 -Neverwinter Night’s Server


-Room 2

8-Port Switch (using UTP Cat. 5e)
Computer running Windows XP Pro
Computer running Windows 98SE

*NOTE* Room 1 and Room 2 are over 100 feet away from each other. Room 2 can not have the gateway. Room 2 can not run the server.



What I want:

I would like to setup my Linux server to run as both a gateway and as a server. I would like to have it run as a server under selected ports, and bridge or route the remaining ports to the rest of my LAN. I do not think I could bridge it to my router, so my only option is to route it, unless I am wrong?



My Concern:

Would this be productive? Would it be possible? Would there be abnormal problems? Would you have a suggestion providing a better resolution?



*Thanks in advance.
 
Old 11-30-2003, 04:31 PM   #2
dolvmin
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Florida
Distribution: Red Hat 7.2/8/9, Fedora Core 1/2/3, Smoothwall, Mandrake 7.0/10, Vecter 4, Arch 0.6, EnGuarde
Posts: 289

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
bump
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Home Network Setup Help Linux Server running Windoze XP clients + ADSL router BeaverusIV Linux - Networking 10 04-22-2005 05:07 PM
DNS server setup behind router goodman Linux - Networking 2 04-30-2004 04:42 AM
How do I setup a Server behind a router supertechmyers Linux - Networking 3 11-09-2003 07:30 PM
Cant resolve adresses after setup of interfaces michel leenders Linux - Networking 1 06-19-2003 03:18 PM
DSL Router/Print Server Setup palm1 Linux - General 9 11-01-2002 12:37 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration