LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - Installation
User Name
Password
Slackware - Installation This forum is for the discussion of installation issues with Slackware.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-21-2020, 02:41 PM   #1
olivier.voutat
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2008
Distribution: Slackware64 14.2
Posts: 31

Rep: Reputation: 0
gdisk raid


Trying to install Slackware 64 in a Dell Precision T1700. I'm having a lot of trouble. It is configured to use UEFI, and has two SDD of 256G each in RAID mode.

My first problem was booting the DVD in UEFI mode. Was getting an sector error from grub.

Found an alternative, created an USB Slackware installer.

Second problem, I see a /dev/md126 device which seems to be representation of the raid.

But when I try to save the edited partions, I get an error message saying that there was an error.

I also have windows 10 on this machine and tried other partition managers as partition wizard or easeus. Crap.

Easeus doesn't have swap option and wizard says falsely that formats are swap and ext4 but when I go back to cgdisk, it indicates basic data partition (windows). Slackware doesn't see them.

I did a lot of research and didn't find a solution yet. Some tips?
 
Old 05-21-2020, 02:47 PM   #2
smallpond
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2011
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Distribution: CentOS 6 & 7
Posts: 3,340

Rep: Reputation: 906Reputation: 906Reputation: 906Reputation: 906Reputation: 906Reputation: 906Reputation: 906Reputation: 906
Could you boot a USB live distro and post the outputs of the commands:

Code:
lsblk -af
cat /proc/mdstat
 
Old 05-21-2020, 03:13 PM   #3
olivier.voutat
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2008
Distribution: Slackware64 14.2
Posts: 31

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by smallpond View Post
Could you boot a USB live distro and post the outputs of the commands:

Code:
lsblk -af
cat /proc/mdstat
Attached my print screens. Weird, the output says ext4 and swap, but Slackware is not able to see THEM. I see too a readonly information
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200521_220625.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	247.0 KB
ID:	33241   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20200521_220705.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	243.7 KB
ID:	33242  
 
Old 05-22-2020, 01:50 PM   #4
smallpond
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2011
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Distribution: CentOS 6 & 7
Posts: 3,340

Rep: Reputation: 906Reputation: 906Reputation: 906Reputation: 906Reputation: 906Reputation: 906Reputation: 906Reputation: 906
The common arrangement is to partition two drives the same way and then make RAID volumes from corresponding partitions on each disk. Yours doesn't look like that. You appear to have made the RAID first, and then partitioned the RAID. I think lsblk may be confused by this. I don't know why it is showing each filesystem 3 times. At any rate, not many partition managers are likely to understand a partitioned RAID volume. It is also possible that you made the RAID from a partition on sdb (sdb[1]) and a whole drive (sda[0]). This is also likely to confuse things.
 
Old 05-22-2020, 03:00 PM   #5
olivier.voutat
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2008
Distribution: Slackware64 14.2
Posts: 31

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
It is not a software raid. It is a hardware Raid. Configured in the BIOS. Windows had any problem creating partitions...
 
Old 05-22-2020, 03:10 PM   #6
olivier.voutat
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2008
Distribution: Slackware64 14.2
Posts: 31

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
https://www.dell.com/support/article...ell-pc?lang=en
 
Old 05-22-2020, 07:06 PM   #7
Richard Cranium
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2009
Location: Carrollton, Texas
Distribution: Slackware64 14.2
Posts: 3,668

Rep: Reputation: 2013Reputation: 2013Reputation: 2013Reputation: 2013Reputation: 2013Reputation: 2013Reputation: 2013Reputation: 2013Reputation: 2013Reputation: 2013Reputation: 2013
Maybe you should try -current.
 
Old 05-22-2020, 07:18 PM   #8
jefro
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2008
Posts: 19,852

Rep: Reputation: 3086Reputation: 3086Reputation: 3086Reputation: 3086Reputation: 3086Reputation: 3086Reputation: 3086Reputation: 3086Reputation: 3086Reputation: 3086Reputation: 3086
https://www.intel.com/content/dam/ww...inux-paper.pdf

That is why your md126 shows up.
 
Old 05-23-2020, 02:41 AM   #9
olivier.voutat
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2008
Distribution: Slackware64 14.2
Posts: 31

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefro View Post
Thank you for the document. I'm reading it.

After some research, I just believe that I don't know a lot about RAID. In fact, there is three different RAID types:

1) Hardware RAID (which I thought was my type, but no...)
2) Software RAID (managed by OS)
3) Fake RAID (configured in the motherboard BIOS with Intel chipset in my case)
 
Old 05-23-2020, 03:10 AM   #10
olivier.voutat
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2008
Distribution: Slackware64 14.2
Posts: 31

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
And I assume that is simply not possible according to this other post

https://www.linuxquestions.org/quest...e3-4175523446/
 
  


Reply

Tags
cgdisk, raid, uefi


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] How can I add gdisk to Slackware 14.2 install? Altiris Slackware 5 08-08-2016 07:36 PM
[SOLVED] Is gdisk actually working? I am installing arch Linux and using gdisk. Ererer Linux - General 5 12-28-2015 12:14 AM
[SOLVED] samsung/gdisk/uefi booting anxiety michaelslack Slackware 5 07-02-2013 11:15 PM
[SOLVED] Slackware 13.37 - gdisk choices, MBR, GPT or Blank GPT CFet Slackware - Installation 3 04-01-2011 04:46 PM
GDISK not present under testing? Xeratul Debian 1 12-05-2010 06:52 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - Installation

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration