LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 02-13-2020, 10:25 AM   #1
BroX
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Sweden
Distribution: Slackware64-current, SlackwareARM-current
Posts: 795

Rep: Reputation: 78
Face recognition in digikam


Not specific a slackware issue, but I am interested to hear experiences from the slackware community.

I have been using digikam for a very long time to organise my photographs, and over time I have tagged a lot of faces. But all this tagging had to be manual after digikam detected the faces. It has never been able to recognise them. The names it tags to the faces seem to be at random.

Just curious to know if any one has used this feature with success.

Although I do not run KDE as a desktop (i3 instead) I have KDE5 from ktown installed.

Cheers, Leon.
 
Old 02-15-2020, 08:57 AM   #2
chrisretusn
Senior Member
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Location: Philippines
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 1,065

Rep: Reputation: 433Reputation: 433Reputation: 433Reputation: 433Reputation: 433
I have DigiKam install and have a lot of pictures. I haven't played much with face recognition yet. Now is as good a time to play around with it. Give a couple of days to get back on this.
 
Old 02-16-2020, 06:53 AM   #3
Tonus
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2007
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slackware-current
Posts: 638
Blog Entries: 3

Rep: Reputation: 165Reputation: 165
Face recognition in digikam

Same setup as yours BroX
I played a little with face recognition. Quite as accurate as OS X, so good when it's easy, needs to be reviewed by human eyes...
 
Old 02-17-2020, 06:29 PM   #4
BroX
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2003
Location: Sweden
Distribution: Slackware64-current, SlackwareARM-current
Posts: 795

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 78
Good to hear that face recognition in digikam can work. Just don't understand why it has never worked for me. Besides enabling "Clear and rebuild all training data", what else could I try?
 
  


Reply

Tags
digikam, kde5


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LXer: KDE's DigiKam 3.0 Still Working On Face Recognition LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 01-01-2013 12:12 PM
LXer: New Features in digiKam 2.0: Face*Recognition LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 04-11-2011 08:00 AM
LXer: FFII face-to-face to solve patent problems LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 11-17-2006 04:54 AM
face to face, man to man dazzler Linux - General 1 07-27-2004 07:27 AM
face to face in Malaysia ... Penang thomassounness Linux - Newbie 3 06-29-2003 07:09 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration