LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > SUSE / openSUSE
User Name
Password
SUSE / openSUSE This Forum is for the discussion of Suse Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 01-18-2020, 09:49 PM   #1
hankmaurer
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2020
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Dolphin doesn't see windows partition


I used to see my windows partition under devices. I could then click on the icon, mount the device, and access the files. This no longer works. Note that I haven't used the Linux system for a few months.
 
Old 01-18-2020, 10:08 PM   #2
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu MATE, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 15,864
Blog Entries: 27

Rep: Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662
I gather from the wording of your post that this used to work.

Please read this and provide more information, such as what distro/version you are running, what changes have been made between when it worked and when it stopped working, and so on.
 
Old 01-18-2020, 10:29 PM   #3
hankmaurer
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2020
Posts: 3

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by hankmaurer View Post
I used to see my windows partition under devices. I could then click on the icon, mount the device, and access the files. This no longer works. Note that I haven't used the Linux system for a few months.
I'm using OpenSUSE Leap 15.1 and I haven't done much of anything with the system since last September.
 
Old 01-18-2020, 11:10 PM   #4
phantom_cyph
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2007
Location: West Africa
Distribution: Slackware/Debian (when necessary)
Posts: 2,443
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 105Reputation: 105
So it's a dual boot? Did you ensure that it was a clean (full, not fast) shutdown of windows?

Have you tried mounting a partition manually to see what is said?
 
Old 01-19-2020, 07:03 PM   #5
hankmaurer
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jan 2020
Posts: 3

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
My mistake - windows partition IS visible

My mistake; I probably remembered it incorrectly. Under "devices" there are two icons labeled "OS" and "35.0 GiB Hard Drive". The first is my windows partition and the second the partition containing the Linux system. My only excuse is that I'm not sure where those labels came from but I don't believe I provided either of them. I assume they were automatically generated when I installed the Linux system. Anyway, clicking on the "OS" icon gets me to the Windows partition (after the supervisor password is entered). So all is well.
 
Old 01-20-2020, 09:17 PM   #6
frankbell
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia, USA
Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu MATE, Mageia, and whatever VMs I happen to be playing with
Posts: 15,864
Blog Entries: 27

Rep: Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662Reputation: 4662
Thanks for the rest of the story. Your response may help someone else in the future.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[KDE/Dolphin] Issues with Dolphin and io-slave. WisdomFire Manjaro 1 03-26-2017 06:27 PM
dolphin doesn't ask me for password while accessing a partition mzrk7 Debian 1 11-17-2013 07:22 PM
[SOLVED] Installer can't see my sata hdd - bios, live cd dolphin can poisonborz Linux - Software 5 12-17-2009 09:57 PM
Linux installation doesn't see Windows 7 partition refracted Linux - General 1 10-07-2009 08:45 AM
Samba - Linux box can see Windows, but WIndows can't see Linux Korff Linux - Networking 1 06-02-2003 11:23 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > SUSE / openSUSE

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration