LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Suse/Novell
User Name
Password
Suse/Novell This Forum is for the discussion of Suse Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 03-09-2005, 04:14 PM   #1
yapp
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: Netherlands
Distribution: SuSE (before: Gentoo, Slackware)
Posts: 613

Rep: Reputation: 30
No video previews in konqueror


I noticed SuSE doesn't display thumbnails for video files, but I also can't find the option to enable this. How can I enable this feature in SuSE 9.2? Other distro's seam to have it available out of the box.
 
Old 03-09-2005, 05:47 PM   #2
{BBI}Nexus{BBI}
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: Nottingham, UK
Distribution: Mageia 4
Posts: 4,297

Rep: Reputation: 205Reputation: 205Reputation: 205
Have a look under View-->Preview and place a check mark against Video Files
 
Old 03-10-2005, 01:59 AM   #3
yapp
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: Netherlands
Distribution: SuSE (before: Gentoo, Slackware)
Posts: 613

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
Originally posted by {BBI}Nexus{BBI}
Have a look under View-->Preview and place a check mark against Video Files
That's exactly the point.. That option doesn't exist at my system!
 
Old 03-10-2005, 01:28 PM   #4
{BBI}Nexus{BBI}
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: Nottingham, UK
Distribution: Mageia 4
Posts: 4,297

Rep: Reputation: 205Reputation: 205Reputation: 205
I'm not sure if you have a Control Center in SuSE, if you do try looking at Components-->File Manager, options for Previews & Metadata are there.
 
Old 03-10-2005, 02:16 PM   #5
yapp
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: Netherlands
Distribution: SuSE (before: Gentoo, Slackware)
Posts: 613

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
Originally posted by {BBI}Nexus{BBI}
I'm not sure if you have a Control Center in SuSE, if you do try looking at Components-->File Manager, options for Previews & Metadata are there.
That's not the problem. I have previews for images, text files, even sound files! The missing option is "Video files" other distro's have that kfile_ plugin installed by default, I don't know what package I need to install to get it working in SuSE.
 
Old 03-17-2005, 05:55 PM   #6
SaguratuS
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: 0
Same problem here, just got kde3.4, and rebuilt my entire system. Everything was working nicely with 3.3

Anyone have any ideas?
 
Old 03-19-2005, 01:58 AM   #7
SaguratuS
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Posts: 3

Rep: Reputation: 0
Well, I tracked it back to videothumbnail, which seems to be included with kde 3.3, but not with 3.4.

Solution:
If you have an old kde 3.3 installation -
cp /usr/kde/3.3/lib/kde3/videothumbnail* /usr/kde/3.4/lib/kde3/
cp -R /usr/kde/3.3/share/apps/videothumbnail /usr/kde/3.4/share/apps/
cp /usr/kde/3.3/share/services/videothumbnail.desktop /usr/kde/3.4/share/services/

Hope this helps, working nicely here.
 
Old 04-13-2005, 07:26 AM   #8
OhMyAchingGut
Member
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: Ohio
Distribution: Slackware-current/10.1/10.0, Splack 10, Suse 9.2, NetBSD 2.0, OpenBSD 3.6, Solaris 8
Posts: 85

Rep: Reputation: 15
I had the same exact problem. After being told by several people that grabbing the old versions made no sense, i checked my Yast sources. Sure enough, I'd forgotten and only left the DVD as a source. Libxine wasn't installed because it couldn't find Speex...so no video in konqueror, as it was using those libaries.

Added an online and updated official SuSE repository, alone with Packman, and sure enough it found Speex, installed libxine, and i've got the video previews option back!
 
Old 04-13-2005, 04:04 PM   #9
yapp
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2003
Location: Netherlands
Distribution: SuSE (before: Gentoo, Slackware)
Posts: 613

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
Originally posted by OhMyAchingGut
I had the same exact problem. After being told by several people that grabbing the old versions made no sense, i checked my Yast sources. [...]

Added an online and updated official SuSE repository, alone with Packman, and sure enough it found Speex, installed libxine, and i've got the video previews option back!
I have speex and libxine1 installed from packman too, but no video previews..

I didn't have video previews in KDE 3.3 either.
 
Old 10-28-2005, 12:04 PM   #10
Amon80
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: Rome, Italy
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.06, SuSE 10.0
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: 0
I had the same problem with SUSE 10.0. The solution, for me, was very simple.

Using YAST, install the package kdemultimedia3-video-xine. It's the one used to generate the thumbnails.

Hope it works for you too.
 
Old 07-25-2006, 05:07 AM   #11
malcom80
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Posts: 12

Rep: Reputation: 0
Thank you Amon80.
I have fixed the problem in Suse + kde,
but i have still no video preview in Ubuntu + gnome.
Do you know the package to install in Ubuntu-gnome for video previews??

Thanks

malcom
 
Old 09-07-2006, 08:26 AM   #12
Amon80
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2004
Location: Rome, Italy
Distribution: Ubuntu 6.06, SuSE 10.0
Posts: 9

Rep: Reputation: 0
I don't now. In my Dapper Drake this feature worked out-of-the-box. Do you use totem-gstreamer or totem-xine?

Btw, look at this page. Maybe it is useful, even if it is a bit old:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=3307

Bye!

Last edited by Amon80; 09-07-2006 at 08:31 AM.
 
  


Reply

Tags
preview, video


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
movie previews citrus Linux - Newbie 1 05-24-2005 12:53 AM
konqueror image previews RockmanExe Slackware 3 01-11-2005 02:20 AM
Cannot get Mandrake 10 Konqueror to display previews of file icons. tried the normal ryord Linux - General 3 03-22-2004 04:01 PM
Konqueror Sound previews mrsolo Linux - Software 1 12-02-2003 09:18 PM
Audio previews in Konqueror Sirrvs Linux - Software 1 08-22-2003 01:32 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration