Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.


  Search this Thread
Old 12-02-2003, 06:48 PM   #1
Registered: Jun 2002
Location: Where ever the Navy sends me
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 320

Rep: Reputation: 30
Konqueror Sound previews

Is there a way to configure Konqueror to use a different sound driver? My laptop's sound driver doesn't support hardware mixing so I have to use arts or esound if I want to mix sounds. I really don't like to use sound mixers so I use Alsa. When I quit Konqueror, I have to wait a little bit before I can play a movie or listen to music since the sound server has to shut down after I close Knoqueror.
Old 12-02-2003, 09:18 PM   #2
Registered: Jul 2003
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 389

Rep: Reputation: 52
This isn't really answering your question, but it might help.

Go into the KDE Control Center, then Sound & Multimedia, then Sound System. There's a option labelled "Autosuspend if idle for:"; try enabeling it and reducing that to a small number of seconds to cure the waiting problem.



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No video previews in konqueror yapp SUSE / openSUSE 11 09-07-2006 08:26 AM
movie previews citrus Linux - Newbie 1 05-24-2005 12:53 AM
konqueror image previews RockmanExe Slackware 3 01-11-2005 02:20 AM
Cannot get Mandrake 10 Konqueror to display previews of file icons. tried the normal ryord Linux - General 3 03-22-2004 04:01 PM
Audio previews in Konqueror Sirrvs Linux - Software 1 08-22-2003 01:32 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.

Main Menu
Write for LQ is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration