LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 07-12-2005, 05:39 AM   #1
Basel
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: United States
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10
Posts: 319

Rep: Reputation: 30
/lib/libthread_db.so.1 crashes at shutdown or reboot on Slackware 10.1 with Qt 3.3.4


Hi,

I get the error message below most of the time when I restart or shutdown my pc.
I am currently running Slackware 10.1 with Qt 3.3.4 and KDE 3.4.1 both compiled from source.
I got the message on kernel 2.4.29 as well as kernel 2.6.11.11

Do you think that I did something wrong during Qt compilation?

Code:
Using host libthread_db library "/lib/libthread_db.so.1".
[Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
[New Thread 16384 (LWP 5225)]
[KCrash handler]
#5  0xb7460cd1 in QGList::find ()
   from /usr/local/qt-x11-free-3.3.4/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#6  0xb78419de in KGlobal::registerStaticDeleter ()
   from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkdecore.so.4
#7  0xb7de4692 in KDirWatch::self () from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkio.so.4
#8  0xb7e3bb7a in KDirListerCache::KDirListerCache ()
   from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkio.so.4
#9  0xb7e43709 in KDirListerCache::self () from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkio.so.4
#10 0xb7e4e22b in KDirLister::stop () from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkio.so.4
#11 0xb7e4d5b1 in KDirLister::~KDirLister ()
   from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkio.so.4
#12 0xb6428e54 in SystemMenu::~SystemMenu ()
   from /usr/local/kde/lib/kde3/kickermenu_systemmenu.so
#13 0xb7b8d4bf in QPtrList<QObject>::deleteItem ()
   from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkdeui.so.4
#14 0xb7460c3c in QGList::clear ()
   from /usr/local/qt-x11-free-3.3.4/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
#15 0xb784f1bb in KLibrary::~KLibrary ()
   from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkdecore.so.4
#16 0xb7852192 in KLibLoader::close_pending ()
   from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkdecore.so.4
#17 0xb7850d19 in KLibLoader::~KLibLoader ()
   from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkdecore.so.4
#18 0xb784fc89 in KLibLoader::cleanUp ()
   from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkdecore.so.4
#19 0xb7789db8 in KApplication::~KApplication ()
   from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkdecore.so.4
#20 0xb7855bd3 in KUniqueApplication::~KUniqueApplication ()
   from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkdecore.so.4
#21 0xb687b7c6 in Kicker::~Kicker ()
   from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkdeinit_kicker.so
#22 0xb68798cf in kdemain () from /usr/local/kde/lib/libkdeinit_kicker.so
#23 0xb69127d0 in kdeinitmain () from /usr/local/kde/lib/kde3/kicker.so
#24 0x0804cd06 in launch ()
#25 0x0804e234 in handle_launcher_request ()
#26 0x0804e777 in handle_requests ()
#27 0x0804f7a8 in main ()
 
Old 07-12-2005, 06:10 AM   #2
keefaz
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,617

Rep: Reputation: 136Reputation: 136
Did you configure qt with the same options as this Slackbuild script ?
http://ftp.belnet.be/packages/slackw.../qt.SlackBuild
 
Old 07-12-2005, 06:23 AM   #3
Basel
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: United States
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10
Posts: 319

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
I followed the instruction in the following page:

http://developer.kde.org/build/compile_kde3_4.html

Some code from the page:
Code:
    bunzip2 qt-x11-3.3.4.tar.bz2
    tar xvf qt-x11-3.3.4.tar
    cd qt-x11-3.3.4
    less INSTALL
    (Set up QTDIR, KDEDIR, PATH, LD_LIBRARY_PATH, XDG_DATA_DIRS and XDG_CONFIG_DIRS)
    cd $QTDIR
    ./configure -system-zlib -qt-gif -system-libpng \
    -system-libjpeg -plugin-imgfmt-mng -thread -no-stl \
    -no-xinerama -no-g++-exceptions
    make
 
Old 07-12-2005, 07:13 AM   #4
keefaz
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,617

Rep: Reputation: 136Reputation: 136
If you upgraded your glibc from current, try -stl instead of -no-stl
 
Old 07-12-2005, 07:19 AM   #5
Basel
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: United States
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10
Posts: 319

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
If you upgraded your glibc from current, try -stl instead of -no-stl
I didn't update glibc. what is -no-stl and -stl? how are they related to the error stack?

Last edited by Basel; 07-12-2005 at 07:20 AM.
 
Old 07-12-2005, 07:31 AM   #6
keefaz
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,617

Rep: Reputation: 136Reputation: 136
Try a ./configure --help to answer this question
stl is SGI Standard Template Library
http://www.sgi.com/tech/stl/stl_introduction.html

Frankly, I don't know if it is related to your error
I first make a confusion between stl and tls (Thread-local storage support)
and tls was added in current glibc

But when I compared your options and the slackbuild configure options
for qt, I saw this major difference (there are other options in the
slackbuild script that you did not use too)
 
Old 07-12-2005, 07:43 AM   #7
Basel
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: United States
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10
Posts: 319

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Do I need to recompile KDE after compiling Qt again?
 
Old 07-12-2005, 08:22 AM   #8
keefaz
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,617

Rep: Reputation: 136Reputation: 136
I think no as the kde programs use the qt shared libraries at runtime but
at compile, they use the qt header files (I don't think qt header files
changes if you enable or disable qt compile options)

I may be wrong though...
 
Old 07-12-2005, 08:36 AM   #9
Basel
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: United States
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10
Posts: 319

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Thanks keefaz for your help. I will try to compile it again and see how it goes.
 
Old 07-13-2005, 10:46 PM   #10
Basel
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: United States
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10
Posts: 319

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Keefaz,

I have tried the build script you suggested but the only themes I got were CDE, Motif, Platinum and maybe SGI.
Why does the script compiles Qt under /usr/lib and not /usr/local?
Will KDE work if I install Qt from Slackware 10.1 CD?
 
Old 07-14-2005, 08:23 AM   #11
keefaz
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,617

Rep: Reputation: 136Reputation: 136
Quote:
Why does the script compiles Qt under /usr/lib and not /usr/local?
This follows the Unix traditionnal way in the sense of all distribution files go in /usr
while some local administrator files may go in /usr/local

I would install the same qt version which I compiled KDE to, for my part

[edit]
Also, if you install new KDE themes, they will be recognized by qtconfig I think

Last edited by keefaz; 07-14-2005 at 08:26 AM.
 
Old 07-14-2005, 08:35 AM   #12
Basel
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: United States
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10
Posts: 319

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Keefaz,

It is safe to download qt-3.3.4-i486-1 from slackware current directory?
Do I need to do any updates before using packages from the current directory?

Last edited by Basel; 07-14-2005 at 08:37 AM.
 
Old 07-14-2005, 03:32 PM   #13
keefaz
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 4,617

Rep: Reputation: 136Reputation: 136
You compiled and installed 3.3.4 qt version , right ?
So I don't see a problem if you overwrite your qt install
with qt-3.3.4-i486-1 slackware packwage.

If you upgrade from current, consider upgrade glibc and gcc
[edit]
also coreutils and binutils

Last edited by keefaz; 07-14-2005 at 03:33 PM.
 
Old 07-15-2005, 04:03 AM   #14
Basel
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: United States
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10
Posts: 319

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
If you upgrade from current, consider upgrade glibc and gcc
[edit]
also coreutils and binutils
Is there a specific order in which to update these packages?
Is it safe to update these packages?
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEWBIE Slackware 10.0 --> logout shutdown reboot (CTRL-ALT-F2) confused?? koodoo Linux - Newbie 5 06-01-2005 07:21 PM
NEWBIE Slackware 10.0 --> logout shutdown reboot (CTRL-ALT-F2 confused?? koodoo Linux - Newbie 1 05-31-2005 06:51 PM
shutdown now -h from X crashes xemous Linux - General 1 03-12-2005 04:22 AM
Reboot on Shutdown david7812 Linux - Newbie 10 11-19-2004 05:14 PM
shutdown and reboot x crashes goneaway Linux - Newbie 2 01-29-2002 12:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration