LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 09-17-2003, 09:37 AM   #1
robertjay
LQ Newbie

Distribution: Mandrake 9.1, ClarkConnect 1.3

Rep: Reputation: 0
Question Mandrake 9.1 and Wireless LAN Card

Hello, I am a linux newb, and I won't try to pretend I'm not.

I just installed the latest stable Mandrake 9.1 on my Gateway Solo 9550 laptop. Everything works fantastic, except for my wireless LAN card.

Now I know it can work with linux, because like a retard, I tried installing v9.2 Mandrake first, not realizing it was not a stable release, anyway, the wireless card worked perfect with the 9.2, I believe it used the orinoco driver for prismII based cards, but not positive about that.

It's a Hawking Technologies WE110P PCMCIA LAN card. Now hawking tech does have a driver for it, and it appears the card is one of the prismII based cards. But their driver is supposed to have a HOWTO file, but I can't find one, the driver location is http://www.hawkingtech.com/wirelessdownload.php.

When I boot my computer with the card in the slot, it says "unsupported card in socket 1".

If someone can help me install the linux driver from Hawking Tech, I'd appreciate it a bunch.

Thanks,
Robert

Old 09-18-2003, 03:13 PM   #2
akaBeaVis
LQ Guru

Distribution: Slack 9.1,10 Mandrake 10,10.1, FedCore 2,3, Mepis 2004, Knoppix 3.6,3.7, SuSE 9.1, FreeBSD 5.2

Rep: Reputation: 45
I'm assuming you tried to get this going with mandrake control center and the hardware tab, but it didn't work, if that's not the case try the GUI tool first.

If it doesn't work for you, try these steps: