LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-23-2005, 05:09 AM   #1
carboncopy
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,210
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 45
Kernel panic - not syncing


Hi,

I have been trying to get a new kernel (2.6.12.5) going in a brand new Dell Inspiron 6000.

I keep on getting

Code:
VFS: Cannot open root device "305" or unknown-block(3,5)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(3,5)
I have tried configuring the drivers a few ways. The latest was to download the 2.6.12.3 source from testing and extract the config. I then modified the config to certain specific needs such as HIGHMEM, processor Pentium-M, etc.

The filesystem is ext3 which I compiled into the kernel.

The lilo.conf is correct as far as I know,
Code:
image = /boot/krnl-2.6.12.5-2.img
root = /dev/hda5
label = 261252
read-only

image = /boot/vmlinuz
root = /dev/hda5
label = Linux
read-only

other = /dev/hda2
label = WindozeXP
table = /dev/hda
Any help is appreciated. Has been at this for a day now.
 
Old 08-23-2005, 07:26 AM   #2
Bruce Hill
HCL Maintainer
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: McCalla, AL, USA
Distribution: Arch, Gentoo
Posts: 6,940

Rep: Reputation: 129Reputation: 129
Just a few things, may not be helpful ...

(1) Did you run "lilo" as root after installing the kernel?

(2) Was there a reason you named it "krnl-2.6.12.5-2.img" ?
Don't know if this matters, but it's not an .img file.

(3) Do you have support for your chipset built into the kernel?
Code:
mingdao@james:~$ less build/linux-2.6.12.5/.config
<snip>
CONFIG_IDE=y  <-- 
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDE=y  <-- 

#
# Please see Documentation/ide.txt for help/info on IDE drives
#
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDE_SATA is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_HD_IDE is not set
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEDISK=y  <-- 
# CONFIG_IDEDISK_MULTI_MODE is not set
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDECD=y
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDETAPE is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEFLOPPY is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDESCSI is not set
# CONFIG_IDE_TASK_IOCTL is not set

#
# IDE chipset support/bugfixes
#
CONFIG_IDE_GENERIC=y  <-- 
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_CMD640 is not set
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEPCI=y
CONFIG_IDEPCI_SHARE_IRQ=y
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_OFFBOARD is not set
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_GENERIC=y  <-- 
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_OPTI621 is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_RZ1000 is not set
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEDMA_PCI=y  <-- 
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEDMA_FORCED is not set
CONFIG_IDEDMA_PCI_AUTO=y  <-- 
# CONFIG_IDEDMA_ONLYDISK is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_AEC62XX is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_ALI15X3 is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_AMD74XX is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_ATIIXP is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_CMD64X is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_TRIFLEX is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_CY82C693 is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_CS5520 is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_CS5530 is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_HPT34X is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_HPT366 is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SC1200 is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_PIIX is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_NS87415 is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_PDC202XX_OLD is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_PDC202XX_NEW is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SVWKS is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SIIMAGE is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SIS5513 is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_SLC90E66 is not set
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_TRM290 is not set
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_VIA82CXXX=y  <-- this is my board's chipset
# CONFIG_IDE_ARM is not set
CONFIG_BLK_DEV_IDEDMA=y  <-- 
# CONFIG_IDEDMA_IVB is not set
CONFIG_IDEDMA_AUTO=y  <-- 
# CONFIG_BLK_DEV_HD is not set
These marked items are things I compile for IDE drives, but I think
the chipset is really important ... mine is a VIA VT8237 PCI Bridge.
 
Old 08-23-2005, 05:53 PM   #3
flebber
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Distribution: debian stable
Posts: 394

Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
image = /boot/krnl-2.6.12.5-2.img
root = /dev/hda5
label = 261252
read-only
With mine I received the kernel panic error because my lilo didn't have a
/boot/initrd.gz line in it.

from a post from liquidtenmillion
Quote:
image = /boot/vmlinuz-generic-2.6.10
initrd = /boot/initrd.gz
root = /dev/hda9
label = Slackware2.6.10
read-only
replacing your kernel and hdaX settings

and for initrd from MasterFox
Quote:
for reiserfs
mkinitrd -c -k 2.6.10 -m reiserfs

for ext3
mkinitrd -c -k 2.6.10 -m jbd:ext3 -f ext3 -r /dev/XXX
hope this helps

Last edited by flebber; 08-23-2005 at 06:30 PM.
 
Old 08-24-2005, 04:55 AM   #4
carboncopy
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,210

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 45
(1) Did you run "lilo" as root after installing the kernel?
Yes.

(2) Was there a reason you named it "krnl-2.6.12.5-2.img" ?
Don't know if this matters, but it's not an .img file.
Well, I name it img cause I thought it is a kernel image. However, I know that it works.

(3) Do you have support for your chipset built into the kernel?
The chipset for the machine is Intel 82801FBM Ulta ATA controller and the PCI chipset is Intel 915GM

I have compiled all the available chipset support as module for the kernel. Should I make it compiled into the kernel itself?
 
Old 08-24-2005, 04:56 AM   #5
carboncopy
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,210

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 45
Quote:
Originally posted by flebber
With mine I received the kernel panic error because my lilo didn't have a
/boot/initrd.gz line in it.

from a post from liquidtenmillion replacing your kernel and hdaX settings

and for initrd from MasterFox

hope this helps
Thanks. But I already have the relavent filesystem compiled into the kernel. I suspect must be the chipset.
 
Old 08-24-2005, 05:57 AM   #6
carboncopy
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,210

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 45
I have compiled in PIIXn chipset into the kernel and still getting the same error. Next, I removed ACPI from the kernel as I thought that might be screwing things around.

However, I just notice some interesting message while booting before Kernel panic.

Further up
Code:
ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; overide with idebus=xx
ide0: I/O resource 0x1F0-0x1F7 not free.
ide0: ports already in use, skipping probe
What the heck? What is going on here?
 
Old 08-24-2005, 06:02 AM   #7
carboncopy
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,210

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 45
Just reboot the stock kernel
and
Code:
ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; overide with idebus=xx
ide0:
hda ....
So, I guess I found out where the error occurs. Now, how do I fix it?
 
Old 08-24-2005, 09:13 PM   #8
carboncopy
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,210

Original Poster
Blog Entries: 4

Rep: Reputation: 45
FIXED!!!!!

I did some googling and came back to LQ.org
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...76#post1807876

According to iam whoiam in his post above, his IBM thinkpad is on SATA bus, therefore in lilo.conf for 2.6.* kernel should be
Code:
root=/dev/sda5
Of course you have to change your /etc/fstab as well. Change the corresponding /dev/hda to /dev/sda.

So, no more turning back to 2.4.*

Argh... Slackware feels good.

edited:
And it is REALLY FAST! Faster then windoze XP! Battery indicator works in KDE as well.
Next would be wireless card (IPW2200BG)

Last edited by carboncopy; 08-24-2005 at 09:21 PM.
 
Old 12-12-2005, 02:10 PM   #9
derrekito
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2005
Distribution: Slackware 14.0
Posts: 86

Rep: Reputation: 15
i did the fix and it worked fine when upgrading to 2.6.10. Now i just upgraded to 2.6.14.3 and am getting the error again. lilo looks fine, reiser Fs support is not module, and i dont know what to do, any thought?
 
Old 12-13-2005, 05:53 AM   #10
mdarby
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Distribution: Slackware-Current / Debian
Posts: 795

Rep: Reputation: 30
Did you do 'oldconfig' or copy the old .config file from 2.6.10 when configuring 2.6.14.3?
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kernel panic-not syncing PowersurgeX Linux - Newbie 5 09-14-2006 02:27 PM
Kernel Panic (!) - not syncing Andknig Linux - General 2 09-14-2006 12:15 PM
Kernel panic-not syncing MRDucks Mandriva 2 11-04-2005 06:57 PM
Kernel panic - not syncing darkarcon2015 Slackware 7 11-01-2005 09:02 PM
kernel panic - not syncing : VFS???????????? alirezan1 Linux - Newbie 7 12-31-2004 04:04 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration