LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2003, 03:07 PM   #1
qeX][lenny-
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
xmms and gaming

hm well how do i have to configure my system to use sound in different apps at the same time for example hearing music with xmms while playing a game? in windows it was standard but in linux only one prog can use the sound protocol... now whats to do?
ok it seems to be a simple problem but i didn't find a way to solve it yet because im quite new to linux

Old 11-24-2003, 03:14 PM   #2
Atmchicago

Distribution: Fedora

Rep: Reputation: 32
What distribution?

It's important to know some information, such as:
-What distribution
-What sound system (oss, alsa, etc...)
-KDE/GNOME/other?

Slackware 9.1 with gnome and alsa has full duplex sound working out of the box. I remember when I had Redhat 9 and KDE there were more problems.

Old 11-24-2003, 05:13 PM   #3
qeX][lenny-
LQ Newbie

Original Poster
ok SuSE 9.0 KDE 3.1 and alsa

Old 11-24-2003, 06:09 PM   #4
Atmchicago

I know of a few possible problems.

One is that you don't have the access permissions. Try running the video game/xmms as root and see if it works. (the easiest way is to log in as root, which isn't the safest, but I doubt you will have any problems). If it works as root, then you might have to change the permissions on /dev/mixer or /dev/dsp. There could be other audio /devs that I'm not thinking of.

If that isn't the problem, it could be that KDE's sounds server, arts, is running and interfering. You said you use alsa so that shouldn't be the problem, but you can make sure by checking if it's disabled.