LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 08-17-2009, 08:21 AM   #1
ETCKerry

Rep: Reputation: 15
F11 Updates Don't Boot

Hello,

I'm pretty new to Linux, and have some questions about updating Fedora. I have updates set to download weekly, so every week or so a dialog pops up from the bottom RH corner of my desktop and asks me if I want to install security updates only, all updates, or no updates. I have always chosen the "all updates" option, and next time I boot up, I see the new kernel version in grub. But selecting anything other than my original installation will cause the system to hang before it finished booting.

Right now I've got four or five updated versions and all of them behave exactly the same way. What am I doing wrong? I figure it's got to be me because I've done quite a bit of searching and can't seem to find anyone with the same problem. It seems that the most similar problem is that even the original version stops working...

Any ideas? More info needed?

Thanks,

Kerry

EDIT: I just found this thread (http://www.linuxquestions.org/questi...64-bit-737003/), where some other people are apparently experiencing the same problem. I'm running the 32-bit version, but my working kernel version is the same as theirs (-167).

Last edited by ETCKerry; 08-17-2009 at 03:39 PM. Reason: More Info

Old 08-17-2009, 06:46 PM   #2
fullwhitebeard
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Next time it says it has updates click on the update icon and then choose to review the updates before you choose any or all. Look at the list and see if you can spot the one(s) that are causing the problem. This might or might not help.

Old 08-17-2009, 10:52 PM   #3
jbb@vcn.com
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0