LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Gentoo
User Name
Password
Gentoo This forum is for the discussion of Gentoo Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-15-2009, 03:14 PM   #1
theabcasian
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2009
Location: Southern California
Distribution: Fedora, Ubuntu, starting gentoo
Posts: 27

Rep: Reputation: 15
Question nano throwing all kinds of jiberish


Hello again LQ
so i tried to look this up but im not even sure what i need to search for.
ok so when I use nano it inserts some code like the down arrow returns
Code:
get_key_buffer(): key_buffer_len = 1
                                   parse_kbinput(): kbinput = 258, neta_key = FALSE, func_key = FALSE, escapes = 0, byte_digits = 0, retval = 14
                                        get_shortcut(): kbinput = 14, meta_key = FALSE, func_key = FALSE
       matched seq "^N" and btw meta was 0 (menus 1 = 1)
page up and down seem to work and so do nano's ctrl keys and then i hit a letter i get the same jumble of commands. on the terminal under nano i get a bunch of
Code:
Hey, set sequence to 7 for shortcut "^G"
and a lot of others.

thanks in advance for any help

Last edited by theabcasian; 06-15-2009 at 03:16 PM.
 
Old 06-15-2009, 03:24 PM   #2
i92guboj
Gentoo support team
 
Registered: May 2008
Location: Lucena, Córdoba (Spain)
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 4,083

Rep: Reputation: 405Reputation: 405Reputation: 405Reputation: 405Reputation: 405
Do you by any chance have the "debug" USE flag on? Try disabling it for nano at least.

If you are not sure, please, post the output of "emerge -pv nano".
 
Old 06-15-2009, 06:25 PM   #3
theabcasian
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2009
Location: Southern California
Distribution: Fedora, Ubuntu, starting gentoo
Posts: 27

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
didnt even notice i added debug any ideas how to remove it
 
Old 06-15-2009, 06:38 PM   #4
i92guboj
Gentoo support team
 
Registered: May 2008
Location: Lucena, Córdoba (Spain)
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 4,083

Rep: Reputation: 405Reputation: 405Reputation: 405Reputation: 405Reputation: 405
Check your /etc/make.conf file. If you can see "debug" in between your USE flags, remove it or modify it with a minus in front of it so it's "-debug".

Then do "emerge -auDvN world" to synchronize your installation with the change. nano, and probably many others should be shown in the list of package to emerge. If that's the case, answer "yes". If not, then we will need to look into something else.
 
Old 06-15-2009, 07:23 PM   #5
milomak
Member
 
Registered: May 2009
Posts: 147

Rep: Reputation: 18
do you not want debug altogether? in which case i92's solution works.

if not you could add to /etc/portage/package.use
Code:
app-editors/nano -debug
 
Old 06-16-2009, 03:23 AM   #6
i92guboj
Gentoo support team
 
Registered: May 2008
Location: Lucena, Córdoba (Spain)
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 4,083

Rep: Reputation: 405Reputation: 405Reputation: 405Reputation: 405Reputation: 405
True. However, seeying how he doesn't even know about the flag, I doubt that he is doing any debugging. The debug flag is one of this things that you only enable and use if you know what it is.

But either way theabcasian, make sure you re-emerge at least nano once you have set the -debug flag.
 
Old 06-18-2009, 02:06 PM   #7
NeddySeagoon
Gentoo support team
 
Registered: May 2009
Location: 56N 3W
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 178

Rep: Reputation: 41
As nano is next to useless with the debug flag on, first you must build it with debugging off.
Code:
USE="-debug" emerge -1 nano
Using USE flags on the command line like this is a VeryBadThing(tm) normally but you don't have a lot of choice.
With nano fixed, you can now hunt down where USE="debug" is set and turn it off. Lastly,
Code:
emerge -uDNav world
to fix all the other packages made with debug enabled.

Yep, I've made nano with debug on.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
kinds of distros and what they do? prayermax Linux - Distributions 2 02-23-2007 10:17 AM
Tips for PC games of all kinds.... lowpingnoob General 1 07-01-2005 12:31 AM
all kinds of trouble with redhat dumbofant Linux - Hardware 3 12-22-2004 03:44 AM
What kinds of linux should I select? Jason_zwf Red Hat 2 08-07-2004 09:09 AM
Jiberish and Print Jobs HadesThunder Linux - Newbie 0 05-06-2004 07:17 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Gentoo

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration