LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > Programming
User Name
Password
Programming This forum is for all programming questions.
The question does not have to be directly related to Linux and any language is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-27-2012, 10:14 PM   #1
Meson
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Distribution: Arch x86_64
Posts: 606

Rep: Reputation: 67
git: help managing a composite of topic branches


I have a master branch a few topic branches. For each topic branch I actually keep two version. topicX and topicX-rebase. topicX merges from master whenever there is a new release. topicX-rebase is a continous rebase on top of master.

I'd like an "all" branch which contains all of the topic commits, on top of master, with not merges. How can I do this?

One thing that gives me what I want is to
Code:
$ git checkout -b all master
$ git merge topicA-rebase
$ git merge topicB-rebase
$ # resolve conflicts
$ git merge topic...
$ resolve conflicts...
$ git rebase master
$ # resolve conflicts AGAIN
This can get pretty tedious. I guess I don't mind fixing the conflicts once, but twice is a PITA. Any options here?
 
Old 04-29-2012, 07:42 AM   #2
pan64
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Mar 2012
Location: Hungary
Distribution: debian/ubuntu/suse ...
Posts: 21,848

Rep: Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309
would be better a graphical view of branches. Where are the commits made (on which branches)?
 
Old 04-30-2012, 07:07 PM   #3
Meson
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2007
Distribution: Arch x86_64
Posts: 606

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 67
All of them. Someone suggested rerere, but this isn't really doing what I want. For example, if enable rerere, I can redo the merging phase, but it doesn't seem to detect the conflict resolutions on rebase.
 
Old 05-01-2012, 09:27 AM   #4
pan64
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Mar 2012
Location: Hungary
Distribution: debian/ubuntu/suse ...
Posts: 21,848

Rep: Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309Reputation: 7309
are you sure those conflicts are the same? I think there can be some conflicts in every step, so it is normal.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Can't install Git repo (I don't git git ) Nemus Linux - Software 3 05-20-2011 02:09 PM
SBo-git - slackbuilds.org on git (with patches for current) ponce Slackware 47 03-12-2011 05:12 AM
[SOLVED] Managing git checkouts... manwithaplan Linux - Newbie 2 10-01-2009 01:31 AM
inconsistency issue of git-clone ***/git/mesa/drm with the existing kernel source centguy Linux - Desktop 2 10-08-2008 10:36 PM
Managing branches in Git Mike_W Programming 2 01-19-2008 03:27 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > Programming

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration