LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > LinuxQuestions.org > LQ Suggestions & Feedback
User Name
Password
LQ Suggestions & Feedback Do you have a suggestion for this site or an idea that will make the site better? This forum is for you.
PLEASE READ THIS FORUM - Information and status updates will also be posted here.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2005, 01:35 AM   #1
J.W.
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Distribution: Mint
Posts: 6,642

Rep: Reputation: 69
Conditional display of "HCL Entries" and "Reviews" ?


It appears that all members have the "HCL Entries" and "Reviews" links below their user info, even if they haven't submitted any HCL entries or Reviews. While I recognize that this represents an improvement in the evolution of the original "HCL count" statistic from several months ago, could this be taken one step further, and only display these links when the member really has an HCL entry or Review? I've run into a number of dead ends lately, where I was interested in seeing what a few given members had submitted only to find that there were no results, and it seems better to only display these links when they, well, link to something. This is not a significant issue, but it seems more intuitive to only display the links if they would connect to a write-up.

In other words, treat the HCL entries and Reviews in the same way that the LQ Social Bookmarks and Wiki Edits are treated, where the links only appear when there is something to link to. Just my 2 cents -- J.W.

Last edited by J.W.; 09-01-2005 at 01:38 AM.
 
Old 09-01-2005, 08:53 AM   #2
jeremy
root
 
Registered: Jun 2000
Distribution: Debian, Red Hat, Slackware, Fedora, Ubuntu
Posts: 10,425

Rep: Reputation: 2628Reputation: 2628Reputation: 2628Reputation: 2628Reputation: 2628Reputation: 2628Reputation: 2628Reputation: 2628Reputation: 2628Reputation: 2628Reputation: 2628
The current implementation was done to save SQL queries due to a schema limitation. We'll correct this when we redesign the forums. I'd agree that the setup you suggest is the proper way to handle this.

--jeremy
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xlib: extension "GLX" missing on display ":0.0". jrk5050 Linux - Hardware 5 05-08-2008 11:19 PM
"Xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0"." zaps Linux - Games 9 05-14-2007 03:07 PM
Xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0". fostiator Linux - Hardware 15 02-20-2005 07:13 AM
"Anaconda" and "mini-wm" lost connection to display :1.0;??? cbrittain Linux - General 0 02-24-2004 05:04 PM
bash-2.05b# Xlib: extension "XFree86-DRI" missing on display ":0.0". citrus Linux - General 8 02-22-2004 10:43 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration