LinuxQuestions.org
Share your knowledge at the LQ Wiki.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 07-29-2004, 10:52 AM   #1
hp46168
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: Indiana
Distribution: Suse 9.0
Posts: 120

Rep: Reputation: 15
Question Looking for opinions...


I don't think this is a FAQ, but I'm gonna toss it out there to the opinions of the crowd here at LQ.

Say, I install a distro, and chose the "install-everything." method, only removing stuff in the detailed package by package selection that I absolutley positively knew I wasn't going to use.

The distro installs an older version of some program, say Mozilla 1.6....

what's the best course of action here, if you wanted to install a newer mozilla?

Uninstall old Mozilla 1.6 and install Mozilla 1.7 or 1.8 or whatever?

Install Mozilla 1.6 or 1.8 into the same directory that mozilla 1.6 is installed in?

I'm looking for opinions. currently running an update check on the distro to see if the distro maker is going to throw in a newer mozilla or not.

Also, reasons backing up opinions would be nice, too before I proceed.
 
Old 07-29-2004, 11:22 AM   #2
darkleaf
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: the Netherlands
Distribution: debian SID
Posts: 2,170

Rep: Reputation: 45
Remove everything from the old version with a package manager and check if it has deleted everything (config files if you don't need them anymore) and install the new version. It's best to start clean isn't it, that's why I do it this way, saves me some time fixing errors because the old and new version conflict somehow.
 
Old 07-29-2004, 11:57 AM   #3
drigz
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Distribution: Gentoo ~x86
Posts: 407

Rep: Reputation: 30
If you have a distro like Red Hat, Debian or Slackware, darkleaf's way is often the easiest. However, if you don't, its often easier to just install over the old one. I use LFS and so I compile everything for source, so I rely on the new install overwriting stuff from the old one.
 
Old 07-29-2004, 03:40 PM   #4
Chris Parker
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Location: Houston, Texas
Distribution: Debian, Gentoo, Redhat
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: 0
Re: Looking for opinions...

Quote:
Originally posted by hp46168
I don't think this is a FAQ, but I'm gonna toss it out there to the opinions of the crowd here at LQ.

Say, I install a distro, and chose the "install-everything." method, only removing stuff in the detailed package by package selection that I absolutley positively knew I wasn't going to use.

The distro installs an older version of some program, say Mozilla 1.6....

what's the best course of action here, if you wanted to install a newer mozilla?

Uninstall old Mozilla 1.6 and install Mozilla 1.7 or 1.8 or whatever?

Install Mozilla 1.6 or 1.8 into the same directory that mozilla 1.6 is installed in?

I'm looking for opinions. currently running an update check on the distro to see if the distro maker is going to throw in a newer mozilla or not.

Also, reasons backing up opinions would be nice, too before I proceed.
You could always install mozilla from one of the snapshots on mozilla.org in your home directory.

Here is what I would do (from the console):

# mkdir Applications
# cd Applications
# wget ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.or...t-pango.tar.gz
# tar -xvzf mozilla-1.7-i686-pc-linux-gnu-gtk2-xft-pango.tar.gz
# cd mozilla
# ./mozilla

This will allow you to run mozilla out of your home directory. You can keep the older version of Mozilla installed (just in case there is ever a problem). I have a ton of applications installed in my ~/Applications directory - it is a nice way to keep my system clean by not installing packages from different sources. I create menu entries for the applications that I install in that directory. When you want to uninstall the application, you can just "cd" to the "Applications" directory and run a "rm -rfv" on the application that you want to remove (or just drag it into the trash).

You can also compile and install applications this way by adding the --prefix switch the the ./configure option (ex. ./configure --prefix=/home/${HOME}/Applications/${ApplicationName}).

Hope that helped.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5.4 opinions Atrocity *BSD 10 05-13-2005 07:49 AM
Opinions totally5150 Linux - General 7 06-27-2003 11:14 PM
Opinions?? Sadie Newlinux Linux - Newbie 2 04-25-2003 05:06 PM
Opinions on the best way to do this? cyberdiamond Linux - Software 11 11-15-2002 08:00 PM
Opinions LinuzRulz Linux - Distributions 1 04-14-2002 07:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration