LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 04-24-2003, 08:11 PM   #1
Sadie Newlinux
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Distribution: Mandrake 9.1
Posts: 112

Rep: Reputation: 15
Angry Opinions??


Okay.. I'm back, on Windows XP, and I had much better results than expected. I have yet to reinstall Mandrake, but I'd like some opinions on a question I have before I take the time to do that.

I managed to install from Restore Disks which gave me the option of repartitioning the hard drive and reformatting the partitions the way I wanted. This was an excellent feature! I made four partitions - three of equal size, one for Windows, one for Linux, and one for shared stuff, and a fourth much smaller one for Linux swap space.

I thought the installer would put Windows on the C drive, and take part of it to recreate the mirror. However, it instead took both C and D - two of the biggest drives - even though the mirror needs nothing more than a little space. I'm wondering if it's worth it to go back through the entire process and create five drives.. two for windows, two for linux and one shared?

Or, is it okay to use the remainder of the image drive to put files and stuff on that Linux and Windows will share?

Any thoughts?

Thanks!

 
Old 04-24-2003, 09:25 PM   #2
Palin
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: A Meatlocker, well feels like one
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 292

Rep: Reputation: 30
The drive with the image on it would be fine as long as the partition is fat32 then linux will be able to read it.

edit: and write to, which is important
 
Old 04-25-2003, 04:06 PM   #3
Mara
Moderator
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Location: Grenoble
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 9,537

Rep: Reputation: 149Reputation: 149
Yes, it is. As far as I know you can resize Windows drives and give the space to the "images" partition.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5.4 opinions Atrocity *BSD 10 05-13-2005 06:49 AM
Your opinions? oktober Linux - Laptop and Netbook 4 03-26-2005 05:44 PM
Opinions totally5150 Linux - General 7 06-27-2003 10:14 PM
Opinions on the best way to do this? cyberdiamond Linux - Software 11 11-15-2002 07:00 PM
Opinions LinuzRulz Linux - Distributions 1 04-14-2002 06:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration