LinuxQuestions.org
Visit the LQ Articles and Editorials section
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices



Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2009, 08:30 AM   #1
wongdg
Member
 
Registered: May 2006
Location: Kuching, Malaysia
Distribution: Debian 2.4 & 2.6
Posts: 42

Rep: Reputation: 16
[Suggestion] Ctrl Alt F1 blank screen


I used to have this problem where all tty1, tty2, tty3, tty4, tty5, tty6 each correspond to Ctl+Alt+F1 ... to Ctl+Alt+F6, they all showed blank screen. I could only access Ctl+Alt+F7 which is my x-windows/gnome GUI.

Recently I had a fresh install of my Debian testing(squeeze). And today while troubleshooting for my hylafax not sending fax, I come across

/etc/inittab

in which it mentioned

# /sbin/getty invocations for the runlevels.
#
# The "id" field MUST be the same as the last
# characters of the device (after "tty").
#
# Format:
# <id>:<runlevels>:<action>:<process>
#
# Note that on most Debian systems tty7 is used by the X Window System,
# so if you want to add more getty's go ahead but skip tty7 if you run X.
#
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1
2:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
3:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
4:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty4
5:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty5
6:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty6

I believe this is where it lays the key to fixing the problem. This is my 2 cents.
 
Old 10-09-2009, 08:40 AM   #2
Lordandmaker
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2005
Location: London, UK
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 258

Rep: Reputation: 38
That looks like the standard configuration, though, which generally works (it certainly does on mine). I think your problem might be elsewhere.
 
  


Reply

Tags
blank, inittab, screen, tty1


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ctrl-Alt-F1 = Black,blank screen? timkarwoski Linux - General 16 02-03-2012 07:46 PM
Cannot Login to Console - Ctrl+Alt+F1 gives me black screen robertpolson Linux - Software 6 05-15-2007 05:31 PM
Screen freeze when back from Ctrl+Alt+F1 to F7 turnovg Debian 4 02-14-2006 05:03 PM
dark screen when pressing Ctrl + Alt + Backspace or Ctrl + Alt F1-F6 in Gnome or KDE trinoo Slackware 5 01-28-2005 09:13 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration