Originally Posted by sycamorex
If you are talking about /tmp directory - that's probably not the best idea as one user will be able to delete some temp files that another user's application is using at that time.
Users can't delete other user's files in /tmp. At least not unless the default permissions and/or ownership of /tmp have been changed which would not be a sensible thing to have done. Default permissions and ownership on /tmp looks like
drwxrwxrwt 14 root root 4096 2009-02-04 20:00 /tmp/
the significant part being that t which represents the sticky bit that allows any user to create a file in /tmp but only to delete files which they own.