LinuxQuestions.org
Go Job Hunting at the LQ Job Marketplace
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora > Fedora - Installation
User Name
Password
Fedora - Installation This forum is for the discussion of installation issues with Fedora.

Notices

Reply
 
LinkBack Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2011, 04:10 AM   #1
Cager
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2011
Posts: 2

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Problem upgrading F12 to F15 with PreUpgrade


Hi All. I am trying to upgrade my F12 system to F15 using PreUpgrade. The first stage seems to go OK and I get a message box saying it is ready to ugrade and to do a reboot.However it just reboots into F12.

PreUpgrade has added an"upgrade" folder to "/boot" and it contains upgrade versions of vmlinuz and initrd.I have tried running these from a GRUB command line but I get a "Error15 -File not found" error message. I realise that the upgrade is a long jump but the PreUpgrade info. on the Fedora site seems to suggest that this should be possible.Has anyone done this upgrade or have any ideas as to which file it can't find.

In case it is significant, during the initial preparation download the progress indicator doesn't get past about 10% and the progress arrow doesn't move below "Download Installer Images" in spite of which it says it is ready to upgrade.

Cheers Cager
 
Old 05-29-2011, 05:48 AM   #2
smoker
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 4, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17
Posts: 2,279

Rep: Reputation: 248Reputation: 248Reputation: 248
Firstly check the grub menu when booting. There should now be an upgrade option.
Secondly, the default boot partition size has increased since F12. You need a boot partition of 500MB to download the upgrade files.
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/PreUpg...ace_in_.2Fboot

Thirdly, F15 is a completely different experience to F12. I suggest you use a live cd first before you commit to F15.

Last edited by smoker; 05-29-2011 at 06:01 AM.
 
Old 06-02-2011, 12:21 PM   #3
Cager
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2011
Posts: 2

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hi Smoker. Thanks for the reply. I am somewhat puzzled as the documentation on the PreUpgrade facility says that if there is insufficient space in /boot it will be flagged when running the initial download and offer alternative ways of proceding. This did not happen and it then said it had finished and invited me to reboot to continue with the upgrade.In fact "df" says I have 44M available on /boot even after this. I have tried running a live version of f15 and it seems to work as expected on my hardware. However since the machine has two spare 250G drives I think I may just leave F12 as it is and set up a fresh install of F15 on these with one LVG for "/"and "swap" one LVG for "home" and a separate "boot" partition.
Cheers Cager
 
Old 06-02-2011, 04:36 PM   #4
smoker
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Fedora Core 4, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17
Posts: 2,279

Rep: Reputation: 248Reputation: 248Reputation: 248
a) fedora resort to the dark arts, and upgrades are symptomatic.

b) F15 uses grub 2 by default. Are you confident that it will allow you access to your other install ?
 
Old 06-02-2011, 05:14 PM   #5
frieza
Senior Member
 
Registered: Feb 2002
Location: harvard, il
Distribution: Ubuntu 11.4,DD-WRT micro plus ssh,lfs-6.6,Fedora 15,Fedora 16
Posts: 3,010

Rep: Reputation: 352Reputation: 352Reputation: 352Reputation: 352
you could also try doing a 'live upgrade'
su
yum update yum
yum update rpm
yum clean all
yum --releasever=15 distro-sync

there may be a few hiccups after doing this but it worked for me (though i only jumped from F14)

note, once the download has finished and the actual install process begins, do not --under any circumstances-- interrupt the update/install process, it could FUBAR your system to the point where the only option is to wipe and re-install from an install disk

i myself have had better luck with this method then the preupgrade option (last time I ran preupgrade i did FUBAR my system somehow)

Last edited by frieza; 06-02-2011 at 05:16 PM.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Samba problem when Upgrading from F12 to F13? Raveolution Linux - Networking 3 09-19-2010 07:13 AM
F12 & Boot up problem Basher52 Fedora 11 08-15-2010 03:00 AM
[SOLVED] Upgrading from F11 to F12 Breaks Google Chrome? mejohnsn Fedora 16 06-16-2010 04:31 AM
Problem in Firefox in F12 abhijangda Linux - Software 4 03-14-2010 10:39 PM
Got a problem upgrading to fedora 9 using preupgrade... The_Trooper Fedora 3 06-04-2008 07:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration