LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-16-2003, 06:08 PM   #1
zaphanol
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Central Illinois, USA
Distribution: Red Hat Linux 9
Posts: 92

Rep: Reputation: 15
Question Dial-Up internet with Red hat 9


I have no clue how i can use Dial-Up internet with red hat 9. can anyone tell me how i dial out?
 
Old 08-16-2003, 07:03 PM   #2
rahulsundaram
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: India
Distribution: Knoppix, RedHat
Posts: 246

Rep: Reputation: 30
hi

we need more information to answer your query appropriately


whats the modem model number

hardware.redhat.com/hcl has a list of stuff that is known to work with linux.

is it a external or internal modem. external modems tend to work better.

try running wvdial from the command line and check whether it detects a modem


run kppp and click setup. go to device tab and check whether the device is listed correctly

/dev/ttyS0 is com1 ttyS1 is com2 and so on.

click accounts and add your dial up username and password. and click connect. that should work



ls -l /dev/modem should give you something like this

/dev/modem --> /dev/ttyS0

which is the com1 port in windows in case that you are using a external modem

if you are using a internal one

lspci should list your modem

if it doesnt chances are that you are using a winmodem

linmodems.org has more information on that
 
Old 08-16-2003, 10:30 PM   #3
zaphanol
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Central Illinois, USA
Distribution: Red Hat Linux 9
Posts: 92

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
ok....the modem is in the list when i type "lspci"

00:1f.6 Modem: Intel Corp. 8280ICA/CAM AC'97 Modem (rev02)
________________________________
now when i type in "wvdial" it says
-->wvdial: Internet dialer version 1.53
--> Warning: section [Dialer Defaults] does not in wvdial.conf
-->Initializing Modem
-->Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
-->Modem Initializing
--> Configuration does not specify a valid phone number
--> Configuration does not specify a valid login name
--> Configuration does not specify a valid password
_______________________________
thats it, I hope its not hard to read!
 
Old 08-18-2003, 07:00 AM   #4
rahulsundaram
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: India
Distribution: Knoppix, RedHat
Posts: 246

Rep: Reputation: 30
hi

you should specify a login username and password along with ur line number at /etc/wvdial.conf

you should be able to connect after that. let me know if you have further problems
 
Old 08-18-2003, 09:28 AM   #5
zaphanol
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Central Illinois, USA
Distribution: Red Hat Linux 9
Posts: 92

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
it still wont let me dial out... all the settings are right
 
Old 08-18-2003, 12:18 PM   #6
rahulsundaram
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: India
Distribution: Knoppix, RedHat
Posts: 246

Rep: Reputation: 30
hi

try using kppp. set the modem to /dev/ttys0..4 and see if any port connects if you dont know exactly what port it is

com1 - /dev/ttyS0 and so on
 
Old 08-18-2003, 12:47 PM   #7
zaphanol
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Central Illinois, USA
Distribution: Red Hat Linux 9
Posts: 92

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
hi...my yahoo account is pgeon_x for some reason it would let me type...
 
Old 08-18-2003, 01:00 PM   #8
rahulsundaram
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: India
Distribution: Knoppix, RedHat
Posts: 246

Rep: Reputation: 30
no probs talk in here
 
Old 08-18-2003, 01:05 PM   #9
zaphanol
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Central Illinois, USA
Distribution: Red Hat Linux 9
Posts: 92

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
when i type kppp it says command not found
 
Old 08-18-2003, 01:15 PM   #10
zaphanol
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Central Illinois, USA
Distribution: Red Hat Linux 9
Posts: 92

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
in ayttm it says that your offline when i try to talk..so i dunno
 
Old 08-18-2003, 01:19 PM   #11
rahulsundaram
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: India
Distribution: Knoppix, RedHat
Posts: 246

Rep: Reputation: 30
hi

are you able to locate kppp in the menu

internet-more internet-kppp?

if you not try wvdial once more

wvdial test.conf

where test.conf contains a copy of /etc/wvdial.conf

with the correct settings in the current directory

if it doesnt connect let me know the exact output else consult the redhat manuals from redhat.com/manuals and check

hardware.redhat.com/hcl and see whether your modem is supported
 
Old 08-18-2003, 02:09 PM   #12
zaphanol
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Central Illinois, USA
Distribution: Red Hat Linux 9
Posts: 92

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
[ethan@localhost ethan]$ wvdial test.conf
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.53
--> Warning: section [Dialer test.conf] does not exist in wvdial.conf.
--> Cannot open /dev/modem: Device or resource busy
--> Cannot open /dev/modem: Device or resource busy
--> Cannot open /dev/modem: Device or resource busy
 
Old 08-18-2003, 02:11 PM   #13
zaphanol
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Central Illinois, USA
Distribution: Red Hat Linux 9
Posts: 92

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
do you have AOL, ICQ, or MSN Instant Messangers?
 
Old 08-18-2003, 02:22 PM   #14
rahulsundaram
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Location: India
Distribution: Knoppix, RedHat
Posts: 246

Rep: Reputation: 30
hi

try this without x and find out what

ls -l /dev/modem points to


some other stuff is locking the modem i think
 
Old 08-18-2003, 02:28 PM   #15
zaphanol
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Central Illinois, USA
Distribution: Red Hat Linux 9
Posts: 92

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
[ethan@localhost ethan]$ ls -l /dev/modem
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 8 Jul 12 11:09 /dev/modem -> ./ttySL0
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Red Hat 6.2 Dial-In Server help!!! BRC Linux - Networking 0 06-07-2005 07:26 AM
How do I download Red hat on 55k dial up? Alex-Foaly Linux - Software 4 03-11-2005 03:34 PM
Creating a dial-up connection in Red Hat 9 The Jedi Linux - Newbie 5 02-13-2004 10:57 AM
How to set up Dial-up modem on Red Hat 9 solar Linux - Newbie 2 09-17-2003 10:04 AM
Red Hat Linux 9 & Conexant Dial-up Modem hank@$3800 Linux - Networking 5 09-09-2003 06:02 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration