LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Linux From Scratch
User Name
Password
Linux From Scratch This Forum is for the discussion of LFS.
LFS is a project that provides you with the steps necessary to build your own custom Linux system.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-19-2004, 11:24 PM   #1
320mb
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: pikes peak
Distribution: Slackware, LFS
Posts: 2,577

Rep: Reputation: 48
LFS uses xterm to start KDE.......LOL


I compiled another LFS using Kernel 2.4.26

I have X installed, and KDE
with 3D accel for Nvidia and amazingly I got
sound working without alsa!!

heres the weird part......when I do "startx"
I get "TWM" ......I guess this is xterm
it starts fine and the when I enter startkde in the
xterm window boom......kde loads all fine and dandy.

from the command line I cannot start kde with

"startkde"

I have to start xterm first.......

anyone else have this same odd configuration.......I
have spent the last 38 hours or so going thru the LFS init scripts
trying to figure it out..........I have also went thru the
Beyond LFS scripts too, but to no avail.........Any Ideas??

like I said KDE works great........I can see my windows partitions, mount, umount CD's, have the kicker bar and all menus, bring up konsole, and play games, have desktop background , screensavers, etc......all thru xterm.......LMAO

Last edited by 320mb; 07-19-2004 at 11:26 PM.
 
Old 07-19-2004, 11:40 PM   #2
rgiggs
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2004
Location: berkeley, ca
Distribution: slk10, winxp
Posts: 313

Rep: Reputation: 30
i have done that before: starting kde while running a window manager. but i don't think it's weird. now, looks like the reason you can't startkde from "the command line" is because X has started. edit your ~/.xinitrc and change the last line to "startkde"
 
Old 07-19-2004, 11:43 PM   #3
netcrusher88
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2004
Distribution: Debian-sid, Knoppix
Posts: 25

Rep: Reputation: 15
Lightbulb

I don't have much experience with that, but something that may help...

Put startkde at the end of your ~/.xinitrc file.

That should (I think) make X directly run the startkde command as opposed to the default xterm run if nothing else is specified. Hope this works with LFS, I had something similar work for me on Debian once.

Last edited by netcrusher88; 07-19-2004 at 11:45 PM.
 
Old 07-19-2004, 11:53 PM   #4
320mb
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: pikes peak
Distribution: Slackware, LFS
Posts: 2,577

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 48
I do have an ~/.xinitrc

but when I change it to read " exec startkde"
X crashes back to CLI.......odd huh.
It seems like, for some reason when I compiled and installed KDE......the kwin manager did not get compiled properly,, but it gave no errors either........so the KDE scripts compiles and used xterm somehow in place of kwin...........I have no window decorations at all........just the "green" xterm bars on everything........even kong and $SHELL windows......

another side effect...........from the time I enter the info to "grub" on a reboot it take less that 13 seconds to get the login prompt.......
pretty damn fast, faster than syslinux that my Slack box uses to boot.........
 
Old 07-20-2004, 04:14 AM   #5
oneandoneis2
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: London, England
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 1,460

Rep: Reputation: 48
IIRC, don't put "exec" - you just want "startkde"
 
Old 07-20-2004, 06:39 AM   #6
zz9pluralzalpha
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2004
Location: UK
Distribution: BLFS 5.1
Posts: 34

Rep: Reputation: 15
Can you run kdm as root from the command line?
 
Old 07-21-2004, 12:58 AM   #7
320mb
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: pikes peak
Distribution: Slackware, LFS
Posts: 2,577

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 48
Quote:
Originally posted by zz9pluralzalpha
Can you run kdm as root from the command line?
why YES it does..........KDE fires up perfect!! Nvidia driver still works and sound pounds out of the speakers........Nice.......
thanks for the reminder, I forgot about trying it...........

For others who are interested in LFS and BLFS........after you get LFS done........you can save it!!
mine weighed in @ 490 megs or so.........I just tar'd and feathered it and it
compressed down to 153 megs............SO if one wants to experiment with different configuration and setups
have at it.......and IF things go wrong just delete it all and start over with a fresh bare bones LFS by
unzipping the tarball...................

I think now I'll upgrade the kernel to 2.6x and see what happens..........stay tuned........

Last edited by 320mb; 07-21-2004 at 01:01 AM.
 
Old 07-21-2004, 05:47 PM   #8
Zero-0-Effect
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2002
Location: Texas
Distribution: SlackWare - Current LFS - CVS
Posts: 267

Rep: Reputation: 31
You know I did that to one of my setups; tar'ed and gzipped. I got mozilla and openoffice actually compiled from source (took 7 hours) but when I screwed up my system (accidental format) and untared the lfs system back out it did not want to compile anything afterwards..just constant errors.

There any special way I should tar, bzip2 the partition up after completeing the lfs install; and what about unpacking it?
 
Old 07-22-2004, 03:45 AM   #9
oneandoneis2
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: London, England
Distribution: Ubuntu
Posts: 1,460

Rep: Reputation: 48
I confess, so far I've just taken the approach in one of the hints: Create a new partition and copy all the LFS files across to it. Edit the fstab, and voila! One pristine LFS backup that you can even boot into
 
Old 07-26-2004, 12:25 AM   #10
320mb
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: pikes peak
Distribution: Slackware, LFS
Posts: 2,577

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 48
Well, I finally figured out the Problem with xterm..........LOL
In the BLFS book when you install X, you make an ~.xinitrc file and put it in
your ~/.home directory................Now, the X install also puts a xinitrc file in
/etc/X11/xinitrc/ directory which also fires up twm(tab window manager)
so I just got rid of the ~.xinitrc in roots home, and changed the other to startkde...........and boom...........startx now fires up KDE just like it should.
 
Old 07-29-2004, 12:07 AM   #11
320mb
Senior Member
 
Registered: Nov 2002
Location: pikes peak
Distribution: Slackware, LFS
Posts: 2,577

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 48
I figured this will be a good place to add an odd "egg" ....so to speak............

I tried to install gkrellm, and got an error about a pango shared library.........gkrellm was looking for "libpangoxft.so.1

well the pango package installed "libpangox.so.1 and libpangoft.so.1"
so I just made a symlink like this..... "libpangoxft.so.1 > libpangoft.so.1
gkrellm get the file its looking for and works like a charm........just an FYI in case anyone else hits this snag..............
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
xterm does not start as regular user aeruzcar Linux - General 1 05-31-2005 08:38 AM
Xterm does not start in root directory mystique98ls Linux - Newbie 2 12-14-2004 06:45 PM
quick shortcut key to start xterm - how? theMonkeY Linux - Newbie 4 09-03-2004 05:42 PM
xterm start with sh instead of bash freeindy Linux - Software 4 04-25-2004 11:58 AM
Automatic Start of XTerm secprovider Linux - Newbie 1 03-30-2004 04:00 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Linux From Scratch

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration