LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2021, 12:51 PM   #16
elcore
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2014
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 845

Rep: Reputation: Disabled

Could be the bad disk, bad profile, bad extension, anything really.. not enough info.
Since giving up on FF, I compile unofficial version of palemoon, it loads everything from tmpfs, works great for me at the moment.
 
Old 04-15-2021, 01:05 PM   #17
wpeckham
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Location: Continental USA
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora, RedHat, DSL, Puppy, CentOS, Knoppix, Mint-DE, Sparky, Vsido, tinycore, Q4OS
Posts: 3,731

Rep: Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688
Have you tried any other browsers to see if they also freeze?
 
Old 04-15-2021, 01:20 PM   #18
slac-in-the-box
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Location: oregon
Distribution: slackware64-current / slarm64-current
Posts: 452

Rep: Reputation: 212Reputation: 212Reputation: 212
running firefox with strace, combined with tcpdump sniffing packets on the interface, could render some clues...
 
Old 04-15-2021, 02:19 PM   #19
Martinus2u
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 489

Rep: Reputation: 118Reputation: 118
I habitually run in excess of 50 tabs in a number of windows on whatever version -current has to offer. Previously tabs started to fail and eventually everything would terminate when total memory consumption exceeded 4 GB. This has recently changed and stability has increased greatly for me.
 
Old 04-16-2021, 04:00 AM   #20
Nille_kungen
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2005
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 558

Rep: Reputation: 191Reputation: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nille_kungen View Post
I had that problem in 2019 but it was solved so i didn't have that problem any more
https://www.linuxquestions.org/quest...ml#post5977996

I had been lagging behind in current since i was waiting for beta but upgraded yesterday and now i had this problem a couple of times since then with one total lockup that forced an reboot and one that could be fixed by ctrl+alt+backspace (restarting X).
It freezes to fast for me to "killall -9 firefox" and often to fast for me to ctrl+alt+esc and when i was fast enough to kill firefox i still needed to restart X since all windows was only black (dolhin, konsole and so on).
I didn't have any problems before the update.
I use a laptop with Ryzen 2500U, 16gb DDR4 also a have a lot of tabs open in my firefox.
The ones that have this kind of problems is it only laptop or desktop also, many tabs or few?
I often need a total reboot, restarting X works sometimes if i am fast enough.
I have had no problems since i made that comment and closed all tabs so i guess it was one page that i had open in a tab that caused it.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-16-2021, 09:07 PM   #21
dr.s
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2010
Distribution: Slackware64-14.2
Posts: 250

Rep: Reputation: 84
No issues here, Firefox runs with lots of open tabs for days until I reboot.
(running -current + xfce and the stock kernel, so I update regularly).
 
Old 04-16-2021, 09:17 PM   #22
bitfuzzy
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 276

Rep: Reputation: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr.s View Post
No issues here, Firefox runs with lots of open tabs for days until I reboot.
(running -current + xfce and the stock kernel, so I update regularly).
I believe the intent was to say one "specific tab" out of those that were open likely was to blame.

Not having "many open tabs" in general
 
Old 04-17-2021, 08:38 AM   #23
wpeckham
Senior Member
 
Registered: Apr 2010
Location: Continental USA
Distribution: Debian, Ubuntu, Fedora, RedHat, DSL, Puppy, CentOS, Knoppix, Mint-DE, Sparky, Vsido, tinycore, Q4OS
Posts: 3,731

Rep: Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688Reputation: 1688
Quote:
Originally Posted by bitfuzzy View Post
I believe the intent was to say one "specific tab" out of those that were open likely was to blame.

Not having "many open tabs" in general
I have long since discovered that the vast majority of web sites are malformed. Sometimes that just makes them ugly at the source level, but more often it makes them inefficient and slower to load. On Facebook in particular there are specific conditions when the page source becomes totally ridiculous. I discovered that I was able to totally lock up the page by replicating certain normal actions in the same order. Migrating to FireFox (mozilla) based browsers reduced the problem (the source was just as ugly, but it took more to lock it up) but the problem remained. I found three solutions that worked:
1. move to an alternate browser like Dillo, that simply do not support the most ugly of the page codes: this caused complaints from Facebook, but avoided lockup.
2. move to the mobile pages (m.facebook.com) which are fare more simple. This does not support all of the features, but avoids much of the ugly code.
3. Move to a different social media site. Few of them send code NEARLY as ugly as Facebook.

I had a fourth option, run Facebook using the traditional desktop. It was, on occasion, rather bad, but not NEARLY so bad as the new interface. Alas, Facebook has disabled the traditional interface and going back is no longer offered as an option.

In relation to THIS thread, my conclusion is that the problem may not be with the browser or rendering, but it may be with a badly malformed PAGE on the SITE! I have run into these so often that I have taken to calling it the HTML BOMB. I am not sure it is DESIGNED to blow up browsers, but it might as well be. Could it be that you have found such a page?
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-17-2021, 08:51 AM   #24
bitfuzzy
Member
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Posts: 276

Rep: Reputation: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by wpeckham View Post
I have run into these so often that I have taken to calling it the HTML BOMB. I am not sure it is DESIGNED to blow up browsers, but it might as well be. Could it be that you have found such a page?
LOL....

I couldn't agree more
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
several times a day "server DNS address could not be found" for 5 mins (Xen-Hosted Debian) oneindelijk Linux - Networking 1 07-19-2016 10:30 AM
[SOLVED] Having To Restart Ubuntu Several Times A Day! = FAIL! Sumguy Linux - Newbie 38 08-24-2010 01:40 PM
Squid3 commonly crashes and restarts several times a day with no apparent reason subhranshu Linux - Security 1 08-21-2010 10:52 AM
System freezes a couple of times a day Fugazi Fedora 12 01-02-2009 05:44 PM
Ximian Evolution cannot fetch email- error several times per day Maxei Linux - Software 0 09-03-2005 10:40 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration