LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking
User Name
Password
Linux - Networking This forum is for any issue related to networks or networking.
Routing, network cards, OSI, etc. Anything is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 03-16-2004, 07:36 PM   #1
fuzzbucket
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: 0
Bizarre DNS issue with graphical browsers.


Any pointers on this appreciated.

It takes graphical browsers such as konqueror/firefox up to 20 seconds from the time I make a request until the page starts loading. My mail client (Thunderbird) also seems to take some time looking up my ISP's POP3 server.
With console browsers such as links response is practically instant. I've been trying to diagnose this issue this evening but I'm getting nowhere... All signs point to a fast connection.


$ time nslookup www . slashdot . org
Server: 192.168.1.254
Address: 192.168.1.254#53

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: www . slashdot . org
Address: 66.35.250.151

0.01user 0.00system 0:00.05elapsed 35%CPU (0avgtext+0avgdata 0maxresident)k
0inputs+0outputs (0major+515minor)pagefaults 0swaps


Nowhere near the 20 seconds that some apps are taking. Is my bandwidth being swallowed somewhere?


$ ping -c 4 www . google . com
PING www . google . akadns . net (66.102.11.104) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 66.102.11.104: icmp_seq=1 ttl=247 time=58.4 ms
64 bytes from 66.102.11.104: icmp_seq=2 ttl=247 time=60.8 ms
64 bytes from 66.102.11.104: icmp_seq=3 ttl=247 time=62.7 ms
64 bytes from 66.102.11.104: icmp_seq=4 ttl=247 time=62.5 ms

--- www . google . akadns . net ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3001ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 58.435/61.154/62.749/1.752 ms


Seems reasonable. My setup is fairly simple - IP assigned by DHCP server running on NAT/DSL modem. Any help appreciated. Thanks.
 
Old 03-16-2004, 08:04 PM   #2
chort
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Silicon Valley, USA
Distribution: OpenBSD 4.6, OS X 10.6.2, CentOS 4 & 5
Posts: 3,660

Rep: Reputation: 75
I know there was an issue with the lastest Firefox on OpenBSD becuase Firefox was trying (and failing) to do IPv6 lookups. Now you mentioned Konqueror as well, but perhaps Konq is trying to do IPv6 lookups, too?

Try running tcpdump or Ethereal when you try to connect to a website and see how many/what kind of DNS lookups are being done.
 
Old 03-17-2004, 04:44 AM   #3
fuzzbucket
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 18

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
I'm no expert at reading packet dumps, in fact this is my first time
It looks like firefox resolves the domain alright, then has trouble actually reaching it. links' output is much shorter and doesn't appear to have any errors.
It should be noted the google.com directs requests to google.ie

http:/ /homepage . eircom . net/~fuzzbucket/tmp/firefox-tcpdump.txt
http:/ /homepage . eircom . net/~fuzzbucket/tmp/links-tcpdump.txt
 
Old 03-17-2004, 07:35 AM   #4
moosedaddy
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Distribution: Debian Unstable
Posts: 244

Rep: Reputation: 30
I am dealing with the same thing. I set the cache in the browser to 0mb and that seemed to help, but I need to do further testing.
 
Old 03-17-2004, 10:30 AM   #5
fuzzbucket
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 18

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
No luck on that front. Thanks anyway.

Curiouser and curiouser, I just downloaded Opera and it resolves & begins downloading as fast as links.
 
Old 03-17-2004, 06:18 PM   #6
fuzzbucket
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 18

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Problem solved. It seems having IPv6 enabled can slow down certain apps (I assume only IPv6 aware ones) so I simply disabled it (inserted "alias net-pf-10 off" in /etc/modules.conf)

Much improved. Thanks for your suggestions, folks!
 
Old 03-18-2004, 08:52 AM   #7
moosedaddy
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Oklahoma
Distribution: Debian Unstable
Posts: 244

Rep: Reputation: 30
Thanks I will try that tonight.
 
Old 03-19-2004, 01:42 PM   #8
fuzzbucket
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Mar 2004
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 18

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Well, it was chort's idea
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
graphical issue running tropico with wine BobCobb Linux - Software 6 10-12-2005 04:09 AM
Any Graphical Package browsers for Gentoo? vharishankar Linux - Distributions 7 07-26-2005 05:18 AM
DNS issue or caching issue? AZDAVE Linux - Networking 7 10-02-2004 12:28 AM
Dns Issue!!! treedstang Linux - Networking 0 06-04-2004 03:44 PM
DNS - Works Internally - Bizarre Externally - Almost 100% fed007 Linux - Networking 9 08-24-2001 04:10 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Networking

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:32 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration