LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-11-2024, 10:25 AM   #1
Frickymind
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2019
Posts: 31

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Post How to see entire text output of commands in TTY?


Hi,
I'm using a Thinkpad running Linux Mint 21.3.
When you're in a TTY and execute a command such as ps aux, sometimes a lot of text is printed as an output, perhaps multiple screens worth. However, I can't find out how I'm supposed to be able to read the text that has scrolled off the screen. I've tried the cursor keys and shift + Pg Up, but it doesn't work. This has bugged me for a while, usually when I'm in an emergency and it's hard to find any instructions addressing this problem.
Does anyone have a solution to this?
Thanks
 
Old 05-11-2024, 10:46 AM   #2
lvm_
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2020
Posts: 970

Rep: Reputation: 344Reputation: 344Reputation: 344Reputation: 344
TeleTYpe doesn't have a scrollback buffer. If think you might want to go back, pipe output to more or less. (eagerly waiting for 'more or less what?' :)
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-11-2024, 11:20 AM   #3
teckk
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Distribution: Arch
Posts: 5,147
Blog Entries: 6

Rep: Reputation: 1834Reputation: 1834Reputation: 1834Reputation: 1834Reputation: 1834Reputation: 1834Reputation: 1834Reputation: 1834Reputation: 1834Reputation: 1834Reputation: 1834
Code:
ps aux | less

less <<< $(ps aux)

ps aux > ps.txt
nano ps.txt
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-11-2024, 11:25 AM   #4
Turbocapitalist
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Apr 2005
Distribution: Linux Mint, Devuan, OpenBSD
Posts: 7,337
Blog Entries: 3

Rep: Reputation: 3732Reputation: 3732Reputation: 3732Reputation: 3732Reputation: 3732Reputation: 3732Reputation: 3732Reputation: 3732Reputation: 3732Reputation: 3732Reputation: 3732
Usually the first thing I do when at the console or in a terminal is to fire up a tmux session. That has a scrollback buffer, and it allows multiple windows and panes.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-11-2024, 12:22 PM   #5
jayjwa
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: NY
Distribution: Slackware, Termux
Posts: 795

Rep: Reputation: 254Reputation: 254Reputation: 254
The Linux tty used to have a scroll back, but it got ripped out by the "use something else" crowd. less is more than more but most is the most. Or, you can lookat pg.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-11-2024, 09:06 PM   #6
mrmazda
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: SE USA
Distribution: openSUSE 24/7; Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 5,859
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 2074Reputation: 2074Reputation: 2074Reputation: 2074Reputation: 2074Reputation: 2074Reputation: 2074Reputation: 2074Reputation: 2074Reputation: 2074Reputation: 2074
Yanking scrollback buffer from 5.7.11+ kernel was a seriously disappointing devolution.

Make a habit of running screen command after each VT login, or at least before running any command expected to produce more than one screen of output, and you will have a scrollback buffer, plus other options. man screen

Last edited by mrmazda; 05-12-2024 at 03:36 PM. Reason: typo fix include omitted /
 
2 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-12-2024, 05:30 AM   #7
GazL
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: May 2008
Posts: 6,916

Rep: Reputation: 5033Reputation: 5033Reputation: 5033Reputation: 5033Reputation: 5033Reputation: 5033Reputation: 5033Reputation: 5033Reputation: 5033Reputation: 5033Reputation: 5033
Agree with mrmazda. Was extremely disappointing to see that feature ripped out. screen/tmux is the usual solution now, but even that isn't a complete replacement for what we've lost.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 05-15-2024, 06:50 AM   #8
Frickymind
Member
 
Registered: Apr 2019
Posts: 31

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Thumbs up Thanks!

Thanks for the advice everyone! Also, interesting that there was a solution that was removed. Oh well.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to reset/restart a tty from another tty? armandino Linux - General 4 02-25-2009 03:09 AM
can a tty execute command on another tty? BeacoN Linux - Desktop 3 11-08-2008 09:39 AM
How to parse text file to a set text column width and output to new text file? jsstevenson Programming 12 04-23-2008 02:36 PM
I it possible to kill a tty or find which tty is being using by which process? geletine Linux - Software 2 01-15-2006 08:40 AM
change tty => system crashes (ati driver/tty resolution) mosca Debian 6 08-05-2004 07:37 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration