LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - General
User Name
Password
Linux - General This Linux forum is for general Linux questions and discussion.
If it is Linux Related and doesn't seem to fit in any other forum then this is the place.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 10-19-2001, 05:18 PM   #1
btb103
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 15
noob question about internet config

hi resign to the fact that i am a pathetic and stupid newb... i bow down and idolize all you who know much more about this than i! first off i'll explain my situation... i have downloaded (i have cable... but very slow) and installed redhat linux 7.1 from their ftp server, it took awhile to get that down... but i managed to do everything correctly, expect the network configuration page. when it booted, it tried to bring up the eth0 interface but failed. i had chosen DHCP for the config page during install, little did i know this wouldn't work. sooo, first instinct was to go into linux and try to set up the network from there... i set up eth0 properly using the network config app... i think this went well b/c when i rebooted it OK'd the eth0 check... so i figured i was all done and i would get right on the net... not the case... i didn't think it would be that easy! so that is where my problem begins... what now? and another tidbit of information about my problem is my weird ISP... it runs my connection thru some odd thing and has given me an IP that begins w/a 10 for the network, this is what i see when i use winipcfg... but what others see is a different IP.. one that begins with a 204... so when i set up eth0 from w/in linux i used the 204 one... and that is the end of my story... any help will be GREATLY appreciated... thank you all have a good day

Old 10-19-2001, 08:05 PM   #2
DMR

Distribution: RH 9.0, RH 7.3, Mandrake 8.0

Rep: Reputation: 30