LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 10-16-2005, 05:40 PM   #1
slazer
LQ Newbie

Distribution: slackware, fedora

Rep: Reputation: 15
how to install man?

hi all,
first of all.. i'm a newbie in slackware.. b4 this i used fedora then decided to switch to slackware. fyi, i didnt install windows manager like kde or gnome etc. just using console... to learn more about linux.

so my problem is , i forgot to install man in my slackware. can anybody here teach me how?

thank you

p/s: sorry for the english... i not good at it...

Old 10-16-2005, 06:07 PM   #2
gbonvehi

Distribution: Slackware

Rep: Reputation: 53
Put Slackware's CD 1. Mount it to someplace like /mnt/cdrom, then use: installpkg /mnt/cdrom/slackware/ap/man*
That will install man and man-pages packages, they're matched with the wildcard in the command.

You can also get the files from a mirror, like:
Code:
wget http://mirror.switch.ch/ftp/mirror/s....5p-i486-1.tgz
wget http://mirror.switch.ch/ftp/mirror/s...4-noarch-1.tgz
installpkg man-1.5p-i486-1.tgz
installpkg man-pages-1.64-noarch-1.tgz
A good book to read if you haven't yet: http://slackbook.org
Also, I'd personally recommend you to do a full install or you'll have to satisfy a lot of dependencies.

Last edited by gbonvehi; 10-16-2005 at 06:11 PM.

Old 10-17-2005, 10:29 AM   #3
slazer
LQ Newbie

Original Poster
thanks a lot....
i'll try to installpkg the man from cd... but unfortunately my cd drive cannot read it due to the scratch on all over the cd's surface.