LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2005, 03:53 AM   #1
b0nd
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Slackware, BackTrack, Windows XP
Posts: 1,020

Rep: Reputation: 45
editing lilo.conf for multi distro machine


Hello all,
just formatted my h/d.
installed slackware 10.0 first
and then fedora core 2.

lilo of slackware is in mbr and grub of fedora core is in its /boot.

I have experience of editing grub.conf for multi distro machine, but its for the first time that i've installed lilo in mbr.

somehow i've managed to get fedora too on the boot option......but i don't think that my way of doing it is perfect

/etc/lilo.conf


Code:
# LILO configuration file
# generated by 'liloconfig'
#
# Start LILO global section
boot = /dev/hda
message = /boot/boot_message.txt
prompt
timeout = 600
# Override dangerous defaults that rewrite the partition table:
change-rules
  reset
# VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
vga = 773
# Normal VGA console
# vga = normal
# VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x64k
# vga=791
# VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x32k
# vga=790
# VESA framebuffer console @ 1024x768x256
# vga=773
# VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x64k
# vga=788
# VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x32k
# vga=787
# VESA framebuffer console @ 800x600x256
# vga=771
# VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x64k
# vga=785
# VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x32k
# vga=784
# VESA framebuffer console @ 640x480x256
# vga=769
# End LILO global section
# Linux bootable partition config begins
image = /boot/vmlinuz
  root = /dev/hda8
  label = Slackware
  read-only
  
image = /mnt/fedora/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.5-1.358 
  root = /dev/hda7
  label = FedoraCore_2
  read-only
 # 	root = /dev/hda7
#	image = /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.5-1.358 ro root=/dev/hda7
#	initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.5-1.358.img
  

# Linux bootable partition config ends
you can notice here that first i've permanently mounted my fedora core in /mnt/fedora and then i'm specifying the path of vmlinuz.

is it right way of doing ??? ( i don't think so )


entries of /etc/grub.conf of fedora

Code:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE:  You do not have a /boot partition.  This means that
#          all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /, eg.
#          root (hd0,6)
#          kernel /boot/vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/hda7
#          initrd /boot/initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/hda7
default=0
timeout=10
splashimage=(hd0,6)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title Fedora Core (2.6.5-1.358)
	root (hd0,6)
	kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.5-1.358 ro root=LABEL=/ rhgb quiet
	initrd /boot/initrd-2.6.5-1.358.img

Code:
root@darkstar:~# cat /etc/fstab
/dev/hda1        swap             swap        defaults         0   0
/dev/hda8        /                reiserfs    defaults         1   1
/dev/hda5        /home            reiserfs    defaults         1   2
/dev/cdrom       /mnt/cdrom       iso9660     noauto,owner,ro  0   0
/dev/fd0         /mnt/floppy      auto        noauto,owner     0   0
devpts           /dev/pts         devpts      gid=5,mode=620   0   0
proc             /proc            proc        defaults         0   0
/dev/hda7       /mnt/fedora       ext3        auto             0   0
root@darkstar:~#
could anyone plz. guide me the proper way of doing it

regards
 
Old 09-10-2005, 04:45 AM   #2
Shade
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Distribution: RHEL, Slackware, Ubuntu, Fedora
Posts: 1,418
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 46
Ruudra, this is always the way I have done it. If there's something improper about it, let me know!

Things to note: If you want the same splash functionality, I believe you have to install a hacked version of Lilo. Alternatively, you can install grub to the MBR instead of lilo.

Also, you can add a second 'append' option to the entry specific to the Fedora kernel to add the options you see there. Like so:

Code:
-------snip-----------------
image = /mnt/fedora/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.5-1.358 
  initrd = /mnt/fedora/boot/initrd-2.6.5-1.358.img  <==== you'll want to add this
  root = /dev/hda7
  label = FedoraCore_2
  append = "rhgb quiet"
  read-only
That ought to get you as close to the original configuration as possible, sans boot-splash.

Note, you'll probably need that initrd defined as well, which you don't have in your lilo.conf listing presently.

--Shade
 
Old 09-10-2005, 04:50 AM   #3
Basel
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2004
Location: United States
Distribution: Ubuntu 10.10
Posts: 319

Rep: Reputation: 30
Quote:
you can notice here that first i've permanently mounted my fedora core in /mnt/fedora and then i'm specifying the path of vmlinuz.

is it right way of doing ??? ( i don't think so )
Yes, it is the right way.

You need to have the following entry in you /etc/lilo.conf
Code:
# Linux Fedora config begins
image = /mnt/fedora/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.5-1.358 
  initrd= /mnt/fedora/boot/initrd-2.6.5-1.358.img
  root = /dev/hda7
  label = FedoraCore_2
  read-only
# Linux Fedora config ends
Do not forget to run lilo as root after editing /etc/lilo.conf

EDIT: I guess Shade was faster than me. I took a long time just to write the reply

Last edited by Basel; 09-10-2005 at 04:52 AM.
 
Old 09-11-2005, 08:54 AM   #4
b0nd
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Distribution: Slackware, BackTrack, Windows XP
Posts: 1,020

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 45
Quote:
Originally posted by Shade

Code:
-------snip-----------------
image = /mnt/fedora/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.5-1.358 
  initrd = /mnt/fedora/boot/initrd-2.6.5-1.358.img  <==== you'll want to add this
  root = /dev/hda7
  label = FedoraCore_2
  append = "rhgb quiet"
  read-only
That ought to get you as close to the original configuration as possible, sans boot-splash.

Note, you'll probably need that initrd defined as well, which you don't have in your lilo.conf listing presently.

--Shade
thanx buddies,
one more thing i would like to ask is........what that line "append = "".........does ???? ( actually i never saw that before )
is it necessary to write there.???

thanks once again.

regards
 
Old 09-12-2005, 12:44 AM   #5
Shade
Senior Member
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Burke, VA
Distribution: RHEL, Slackware, Ubuntu, Fedora
Posts: 1,418
Blog Entries: 1

Rep: Reputation: 46
When lilo or grub boot your kernel, they pass options (arguments) to it. Append adds options to the command passed.

--Shade
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
doubt in editing "grub.conf" in multi distro machine b0nd Linux - Newbie 6 08-06-2005 09:46 AM
lilo.conf editing Daunted Linux - Newbie 6 10-16-2004 10:13 PM
Email and multi-distro machine idris1388 Linux - Software 6 03-21-2004 07:42 AM
Editing lilo.conf alex101 Mandriva 2 10-15-2003 05:17 AM
No new kernel-option in LILO after editing lilo.conf corwax Debian 3 08-26-2003 08:55 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration