LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 07-31-2002, 12:25 AM   #1
Mudd
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Problems installing RH 7.3 on a motherboard with HPT372

Hello,

I'm completely new at linux, and have encountered some roadblocks attempting to install Red Hat 7.3 onto my PC which uses an Abit KR7A-133R motherboard. This motherboard uses a High Point HPT372 IDE RAID controller. Although I am just using it as extra IDE channels with my primary (boot) hard drive connected to it. (no RAID setup)

After reading all the posts here regarding HPT37x controllers, I now know that RH7.3 does not natively support the HPT372 controller. So I went and got the RH 7.3 driver for the HPT372 from Highpoints web site. Unzipping the downloaded driver, I find that there is a nice pdf file in there detailing the installation instructions. Yipee! I had absolutely no problems during the install, until I got to step 13 in the High Point driver install instructions. (The unlucky step? *lol*) To save some time I will just copy step 13 directly from the pdf file and paste it below.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

13)