LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - General
User Name
Password
Linux - General This Linux forum is for general Linux questions and discussion.
If it is Linux Related and doesn't seem to fit in any other forum then this is the place.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 09-30-2004, 11:53 PM   #1
eyebrowsoffire
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: Goleta, CA
Distribution: Fedora Core 6
Posts: 55

Rep: Reputation: 15
Question Default Kernel Config Files


Does anyone know where I can get the default config files for compiling a kernel (specifically 2.4.27)?
 
Old 10-01-2004, 12:17 AM   #2
dalek
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Mississippi USA
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 2,058
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 79
hmmmm. There is no "default" really. What works for you will not work for someone that has different hardware. If you plan to compile your own, you need to start from scratch. cd to the directory and type in make menuconfig and start at the top and work your way through.

It may take a while, and a few times, to work out the kinks. It is the only way for *nix systems. This ain't windows where you get one, that hopefully works, and you use it weither you like it or not.

There are kernel howtos around. I'm pretty sure there are some here and you can google.com/linux for more info.

Hope that helps.

Later

 
Old 10-01-2004, 12:38 AM   #3
eyebrowsoffire
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: Goleta, CA
Distribution: Fedora Core 6
Posts: 55

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Alright, thx for your help.
 
Old 10-01-2004, 01:25 AM   #4
dalek
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Mississippi USA
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 2,058
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 79
No problem. Just bust off in there. Worst thing that can happen, ??? then start over. Mandrake and Fedora are good for "newer" people. I started with Mandrake 9.1, use Gentoo now. Sort of working on OpenBSD for a firewall. CD won't boot. I got the hard drive erased though. That was easy enough.

Good luck. Post back if you need help.

 
Old 10-02-2004, 01:13 AM   #5
eyebrowsoffire
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: Goleta, CA
Distribution: Fedora Core 6
Posts: 55

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Well, specifically, I have been trying to get my slave drive to mount for some time. It has a vfat partition on it of 200GB, and at first, I thought I had to update my kernel because I only had 2.4.20-31.9 and they added support for vfat partitions of larger than 128GB in version 2.4.25. So, compiled the 2.4.27 kernel. It still didn't mount my slave drive, so I at first thought that I had missed an option in the config, but I'm not so sure now. I would think that it would be covered in "support for vfat partitions" and they just updated the code that dealt with vfat partitions. In addition, I've been googling this like crazy, and finding the same kind of questions from people equally as frustrated, but no answers. The people who have these questions are trying to mount vfat partitions that are sometimes less than 128GB and getting the same error message. I am at my wits end with this problem... Anyway, here's the gist of what goes on when I try to mount it:
Code:
# mount -t vfat /dev/hdf1 /mnt/slave
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdf1, or too many mounted file systems
Yeah, and hdf1 is definitely the drive. Both drives are hooked up to a PCI card, but that shouldn't make a difference since it can mount all my master partitions fine. But then again, all my master partitions are ext3 or swap.
Anyway, I've been trying really hard to figure this out because I just recently switched over to linux a few weeks ago and ALL of my stuff is on that drive. So, if anyone could help me, or tell me where I can find help, I would GREATLY appreciate it.
 
Old 10-02-2004, 08:03 AM   #6
dalek
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Mississippi USA
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 2,058
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 79
Two things come to mind here. Do you have support for the card the drive is connected to? That requires a seperate driver, usually in the kernel, sometimes installed seperately. May want to check that first. There are a lot that are supported but some are not.

Second, are you sure it is vfat and not something else? I'm not sure vfat itself supports that large a partition myself, may be wrong there. You can try leaving out "-t vfat" and see what it says.

Not sure of anything else to try. Post back what happens or you find out.

Later

 
Old 10-02-2004, 11:21 AM   #7
eyebrowsoffire
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: Goleta, CA
Distribution: Fedora Core 6
Posts: 55

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
I tried leaving out "-t vfat", it didn't solve the problem. As for the PCI card, well, *cough cough*, I'm not exactly sure what it is but if worse comes to worse I can find out. But, if it had to do with support for that PCI card, wouldn't it have trouble reading my master drive as well? Also, I have tried hooking both drives directly up to the motherboard at first and I had the same problem, but I hadn't updated the kernel, so I really don't know. Anyway, thanks for all your help. If you know of anything else I can do or anyone else I can ask, please let me know. Thanks.
 
Old 10-02-2004, 03:22 PM   #8
dalek
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Mississippi USA
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 2,058
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 79
If it doesn't work with it hooked to the motherboard, sounds fishy, kernel maybe, may be drive itself?? Are you sure the drive works? I would plug it into a windoze machine or something and see what it says as well, if you have one. Just to make sure.

If you didn't enable support for that card, it most likely won't support the card or will be buggy if you got lucky and partial support was included for the kernel. whoever made the kernel config to test may have some drivers, maybe the wrong ones, included.

Still sort of sounds fishy.

I'll ponder some more.


Last edited by dalek; 10-02-2004 at 03:23 PM.
 
Old 10-02-2004, 03:39 PM   #9
Bruce Hill
HCL Maintainer
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: McCalla, AL, USA
Distribution: Arch, Gentoo
Posts: 6,940

Rep: Reputation: 129Reputation: 129
Just a couple of questions, if Dale doesn't mind me
"poking my nose where it doesn't belong."

What type of drive is this? IDE? SATA? SCSI?

Did you create the /mnt/slave mount point?

Can you give the output of "cat /etc/fstab" as normal
user and "fdisk -l" (lower case L) as root?
 
Old 10-02-2004, 04:55 PM   #10
dalek
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Mississippi USA
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 2,058
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 79
Quote:
Originally posted by Chinaman
Just a couple of questions, if Dale doesn't mind me
"poking my nose where it doesn't belong."

It belongs here. I don't mind. I just want his drive to work. I was wondering where the heck everybody went though.

Thanks for helping.

Later

 
Old 10-02-2004, 05:09 PM   #11
Bruce Hill
HCL Maintainer
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: McCalla, AL, USA
Distribution: Arch, Gentoo
Posts: 6,940

Rep: Reputation: 129Reputation: 129
Dale,

You know me...the newbie. I don't know much, but I'm with you.
We got to get his Linux system working so he can be Windoze FREE!!!!!
 
Old 10-02-2004, 07:59 PM   #12
dalek
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2003
Location: Mississippi USA
Distribution: Gentoo
Posts: 2,058
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 79
Amen.

Enough said.

 
Old 10-03-2004, 01:14 AM   #13
eyebrowsoffire
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: Goleta, CA
Distribution: Fedora Core 6
Posts: 55

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Type of drive, IDE. "/mnt/slave" exists? Yup.
Output of "cat /etc/fstab"
LABEL=/ / ext3 defaults 1 1
LABEL=/boot /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
none /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
/dev/hde3 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
/dev/cdrom1 /mnt/cdrom1 udf,iso9660 noauto,owner,kudzu,ro 0 0
/dev/hdf1 /mnt/slave vfat defaults 0 0
Although, I don't think this should really matter, since I am mounting it manually.
Output of "fdisk -l":
Hm....that's interesting. Nothing! It says the command doesn't exist. I've run this command before on a different kernel though, and it recognized the partition and everything. I guess I left something out when compiling the kernel. There's another thing to change next time I compile...
 
Old 10-03-2004, 06:57 AM   #14
Bruce Hill
HCL Maintainer
 
Registered: Jun 2003
Location: McCalla, AL, USA
Distribution: Arch, Gentoo
Posts: 6,940

Rep: Reputation: 129Reputation: 129
eyebrowsoffire,

Which distribution of Linux are you using? If you put that
in your LQ UserCP it would help us give you better answers.

The fdisk command must not be in your PATH, so issue it as
"/sbin/fdisk -l" instead, still as root. And when you post output
from a terminal, it will be much easier to read if you will put
[_code_] without the underscores before it, and [_/code_]
without underscores after it. See if this is easier to read:
Code:
mingdao@james:~$ cat /etc/fstab
/dev/sda3        swap             swap        defaults         0   0
/dev/sda1        /                reiserfs    defaults         1   1
/dev/sda2        /home            reiserfs    defaults         1   2
/dev/cdrom       /mnt/cdrom       iso9660     noauto,owner,ro  0   0
/dev/fd0         /mnt/floppy      auto        noauto,owner     0   0
devpts           /dev/pts         devpts      gid=5,mode=620   0   0
proc             /proc            proc        defaults         0   0
/dev/hda1        /XP              ntfs        user,umask=1000,ro,auto      1   0
/dev/hda2        /PROGRAMS        ntfs        user,umask=1000,ro,auto      1   0
/dev/hda3        /DATA            vfat        user,umask=1000,rw,auto      1   0
/dev/hdb         /mnt/dvd         iso9660     noauto,user,ro   0   0
/dev/hdc         /mnt/cdrw        iso9660     noauto,user,ro   0   0
###added these for usb devices
/dev/sdb1        /mnt/sdb1        vfat        user,unhide,rw,noauto 0 0
/dev/sdc1        /mnt/sdc1        vfat        user,unhide,rw,noauto 0 0
/dev/sdd1        /mnt/sdd1        vfat        user,unhide,rw,noauto 0 0
There's also a button that says Code when you use the Post Reply
function here at LQ, but I just like doing it by hand.
 
Old 10-03-2004, 10:20 PM   #15
eyebrowsoffire
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2004
Location: Goleta, CA
Distribution: Fedora Core 6
Posts: 55

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Code:
Disk /dev/hde: 10.2 GB, 10248118272 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1245 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
 
   Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hde1   *         1        13    104391   83  Linux
/dev/hde2            14      1188   9438187+  83  Linux
/dev/hde3          1189      1245    457852+  82  Linux swap
 
Disk /dev/hdf: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
 
   Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hdf1   *         1     24321 195358401    c  Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
There it is. Thanks for all your help. I don't understand where to put my linux distro in, though...thanks for you patience!
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ununtu linux default config files? ksgill Linux - General 1 10-01-2005 03:54 PM
Program to backup default (critical) config files? bob151 Linux - Software 1 04-01-2005 09:35 PM
getting default kernel config dunkyb Linux - Software 3 01-08-2005 07:09 PM
Default kernel config pioter Slackware 3 11-19-2003 07:49 PM
default kernel config bLaX Linux - Newbie 6 11-06-2002 08:10 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - General

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration