LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 11-25-2003, 09:11 PM   #1
Tiger-Striped
LQ Newbie

Distribution: Slackware 12.0

Rep: Reputation: 0
L.A.M.P on SlackWare (webserver)

Can anyone who knows much about configuring a web-server private if possible using Slackware, Apache, MySQL, and PHP, I want this to run as a private server on my network. I"m just new to Slackware and I enjoy it, but I'm still a beginner and got the webserver running but I don't know how to configure it properly. I have tried many tutorials but they are all confusing since they are relational to RH, SUSE, Mandrake, but I haven't seen one for Slackware. So if any Slackers can help a new slacker out it is greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Old 11-25-2003, 11:58 PM   #2
Azmeen

Distribution: Slackware, LFS, CentOS

Rep: Reputation: 47
I'll take the challenge just for the heck of it.

First and foremost, you need to have the necessary packages installed. I assume that this shouldn't be a problem. You can get the latest packages for Apache, PHP and MySQL from your nearest Slackware-current mirror.

The first file that you should take a look at is /etc/apache/httpd.conf. This is where you configure your Apache HTTP server. The default setting would be OK for an intranet web site, you only need to worry about getting PHP functionality for Apache.

If you have this file: /etc/apache/mod_php.conf, you have an easy job ahead as you only need to look for this line in your httpd.conf, and uncomment it (ie. remove the leading #):
Code:
#Include /etc/apache/mod_php.conf
If not, you have to do the following: