LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 08-15-2008, 08:39 AM   #1
lelawadee
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Seagate Freagent and Maxtor onetouch 4 mini

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner of linux OS because of my project (using Ubuntu). currently I have 2 portable harddisks, which are Seagate Freagent and Maxtor onetouch 4 mini. Today I brought Maxtor to save file from the lab but I can't safe or write any file into Maxtor as well as editing the existed file in maxtor. I can only read file from the harddisk.

and also that I can't "safely remove" the harddisk from PC...

Is there any solution for these problems?

Old 08-15-2008, 02:08 PM   #2
lacohen
LQ Newbie

Distribution: CentOS, Fedora

I'm no guru, so take this with a grain of salt.
1 - You can read but not write. This sounds like it's an NTFS file system, and I believe this is a problem that hasn't been fully solved yet (or at least when I tried it.) You would need to reformat the drive as Linux, but then you wouldn't be able to move it back to a Windows system.