LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-03-2007, 04:10 AM   #1
yekim
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2006
Location: San Francisco
Distribution: Ubuntu, Puppy, DSL, FreeBSD
Posts: 13

Rep: Reputation: 2
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1


I'm trying to mount a possibly corrupted memory chip from a camera so that I can save some vacation photos. I put the chip into a USB multi-card reader/writer and am getting the following error when I try to mount it:

mount -t vfat /dev/sda /mnt/sda

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda

I found a couple of other postings with similar problems. It was recommended to run fdisk on it. So I did and fdisk spits back this:

The number of cylinders for this disk is set to 4294.
There is nothing wrong with that, but this is larger than 1024,
and could in certain setups cause problems with:
1) software that runs at boot time (e.g., old versions of LILO)
2) booting and partitioning software from other OSs
(e.g., DOS FDISK, OS/2 FDISK)

Command (m for help):

If I print the partition table I get this:

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/sda: 2044 MB, 2044723200 bytes
31 heads, 30 sectors/track, 4294 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 930 * 512 = 476160 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 4295 1996676+ 6 FAT16

Command (m for help):

If I go to the expert menu and print the partition table I get this:

Expert command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/sda: 31 heads, 30 sectors, 4294 cylinders

Nr AF Hd Sec Cyl Hd Sec Cyl Start Size ID
1 00 3 59 0 30 30 990 247 3993353 06
2 00 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 00
3 00 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 00
4 00 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 00

Expert command (m for help):

If I verify the partition table on the expert menu I get this:

Expert command (m for help): v
246 unallocated sectors

Expert command (m for help):

Is there a way I can mount this chip cleanly in order to rescue data from it?

Thanks,
Mike

P.S. Subject line of this message says /dev/sda1. It's a typo...should say /dev/sda.

Last edited by yekim; 07-03-2007 at 04:12 AM.
 
Old 07-03-2007, 04:19 AM   #2
rupertwh
Member
 
Registered: Sep 2006
Location: Munich, Germany
Distribution: Debian / Ubuntu
Posts: 297

Rep: Reputation: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by yekim
P.S. Subject line of this message says /dev/sda1. It's a typo...should say /dev/sda.
Actually, your subject is correct. /dev/sda1 is the partition you want to mount. Not /dev/sda which is the whole disk.
 
Old 07-03-2007, 08:00 AM   #3
farslayer
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Distribution: linuxdebian
Posts: 7,249
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 191Reputation: 191
Yeah shouldn't the mount command be: mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda you seem to be trying to mount the device rather than the partition on the device.. It should detect the file system automatically, I don't usually specify the filesystem when mounting a USB drive, or SD card..
 
Old 07-03-2007, 09:44 AM   #4
yekim
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2006
Location: San Francisco
Distribution: Ubuntu, Puppy, DSL, FreeBSD
Posts: 13

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 2
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1

Quote:
Originally Posted by rupertwh
Actually, your subject is correct. /dev/sda1 is the partition you want to mount. Not /dev/sda which is the whole disk.
Actually, I have tried mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /dev/sda1 and
mount -t vfat /dev/sda /dev/sda1 and I get the same results - the error message in the subject line.
 
Old 07-03-2007, 10:06 PM   #5
farslayer
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Distribution: linuxdebian
Posts: 7,249
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 191Reputation: 191
what does fdisk -l /dev/sda show as the output ?

and when you said
Quote:
mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /dev/sda1
did you actually mean
mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1 ?


and the directories
/mnt/sda
/mnt/sda1

do exist right ?
 
Old 07-04-2007, 11:34 AM   #6
yekim
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2006
Location: San Francisco
Distribution: Ubuntu, Puppy, DSL, FreeBSD
Posts: 13

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by farslayer
what does fdisk -l /dev/sda show as the output ?

and when you said

did you actually mean
mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1 ?


and the directories
/mnt/sda
/mnt/sda1

do exist right ?
Farslayer:

Yes, sorry about the typo.

I meant "mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1" and yes, I created the directory in /dev before attempting to mount.

Mike
 
Old 07-04-2007, 01:13 PM   #7
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 25,740

Rep: Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923
Quote:
I meant "mount -t vfat /dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1" and yes, I created the directory in /dev before attempting to mount
Must be another typo. You probably meant that you created the directory in /mnt not /dev. I assume that what you mean by possibly corrupted is that the memory card will not work in the camera.

fdisk creates partitions but will not repair a filesystem. If it is indeed corrupted then you can try to repair using the command dosfsck. Check the man pages for additional information.
dosfsck -v /dev/sda1

I've never attempted to repair a DOS filesystem using dosfsck and do not know how well it works. You might want to make a copy of the partition first just in case.
dd if=/dev/sda1 of=/somewhere/camera.img
 
Old 07-05-2007, 12:10 AM   #8
yekim
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2006
Location: San Francisco
Distribution: Ubuntu, Puppy, DSL, FreeBSD
Posts: 13

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk
Must be another typo. You probably meant that you created the directory in /mnt not /dev. I assume that what you mean by possibly corrupted is that the memory card will not work in the camera.

fdisk creates partitions but will not repair a filesystem. If it is indeed corrupted then you can try to repair using the command dosfsck. Check the man pages for additional information.
dosfsck -v /dev/sda1

I've never attempted to repair a DOS filesystem using dosfsck and do not know how well it works. You might want to make a copy of the partition first just in case.
dd if=/dev/sda1 of=/somewhere/camera.img
Michaelk

Yes, another typo. I did mean /mnt rather than /dev.

I did copy the data from the chip to a camera.img file in my home filesystem using your command. I will read the manpage for dosfsck and see what I can do to repair the filesystem. Thanks! This is what I wanted to do in the first place - save the data from the chip and try and repair things. Can I use dosfsck on the camera.img file I created or do I need to use it on the chip?
 
Old 07-05-2007, 06:26 AM   #9
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 25,740

Rep: Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923
Use it on the chip
 
Old 07-05-2007, 09:46 AM   #10
yekim
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2006
Location: San Francisco
Distribution: Ubuntu, Puppy, DSL, FreeBSD
Posts: 13

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk
Use it on the chip
Thanks Michaelk!

I did use it on the chip and here's what happened:

root@1[~]# dosfsck -v /dev/sda1
dosfsck 2.11 (12 Mar 2005)
dosfsck 2.11, 12 Mar 2005, FAT32, LFN
Currently, only 1 or 2 FATs are supported, not 255.

root@1[~]#

I made sure that the lock switch on the chip was off so it was writable. Attempting to mount the chip produces the same error message I got before.

I'm not sure how to decode the resulting dosfsck message.

Mike
 
Old 07-05-2007, 11:28 AM   #11
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 25,740

Rep: Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923Reputation: 5923
Looks like the filesystem is corrupted. Either the filesystem has been corrupted or the chip has failed. As the error message stated here should only be two File Allocation Tables not 255 so basically dosfsck did not know what to do.

Might want to try using a windows recovery program to see if it can rebuild the FAT.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ERROR AT MOUNTING USB :mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1, saiket Linux - Hardware 3 04-12-2008 12:07 AM
usb drive won't mount - error: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1 bluecog6 Linux - Hardware 4 01-27-2007 09:07 AM
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/cdrom, Adil_uk Linux - Hardware 9 02-16-2005 05:50 PM
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sdb1 pmoreira Linux - Hardware 5 02-26-2004 10:31 AM
USB 2.0 memory stick mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1, o olivier.riff Linux - Hardware 2 11-12-2003 08:11 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration