LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware
User Name
Password
Linux - Hardware This forum is for Hardware issues.
Having trouble installing a piece of hardware? Want to know if that peripheral is compatible with Linux?

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 12-07-2006, 12:33 AM   #1
zlya

Distribution: Debian

Rep: Reputation: 15
fsck: could this be a zero-length partition?

Hello,

I'm afraid I'm a complete newbie; I'm posting out of desperation.

I have Debian on one partition of a Dell Inspiron 5100 Laptop. I think the Kernel is 2.6.17 or so. The other partition has Windows XP. For the past few weeks, Linux has been acting a bit too much like Windows, i.e. randomly freezing so I had to shut it down. During this time, windows stopped working altogether.

Finally, today, while trying to start my computer I got this message: GRUB loading . . .
Error 18. After restarting, and going into the boot menu, then exiting the boot menu, I got another message: Primary hard disk not found.

I was able to boot from a Knoppix 4 cd. I can mount my Windows partition (hdc2), but unfortunately not my Linux partition (hdc3).

I used to get the message: Could not mount device. The reported error was: mount:wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/hdc3. Missing codepage or other error. Now, excitingly, I get a different message when I try to mount the hdc3 partition: mount: I could not determine the filesystem type, and none was specified.