LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora
User Name
Password
Fedora This forum is for the discussion of the Fedora Project.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 06-26-2015, 08:42 AM   #1
xavi_slacky
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2013
Posts: 104

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
touchpad not work on F22


Hi ,

The touchpad don't work me on F22.

How can I debug this issue ?

Thanks, see you.
 
Old 06-26-2015, 05:09 PM   #2
ferrari
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 5,807

Rep: Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140
Which model laptop?

You can use xinput to discover how you touchpad is detected/handled:
Code:
xinput list
Then use the device ID reported to find out more info with
Code:
xinput list-props <device-id>
The reported info might help others advise further. Chipset details can be useful.

It could be worth checking for kernel messages relating to the input devices eg
Code:
dmesg|grep i8042
 
Old 06-27-2015, 03:38 AM   #3
xavi_slacky
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2013
Posts: 104

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Hi ferrari ,

The model is a acer Aspire ES1-111M-C5PH.

The logs:


[root@fedora ~]#
[root@fedora ~]#
[root@fedora ~]# xinput list
Virtual core pointer id=2 [master pointer (3)]
Virtual core XTEST pointer id=4 [slave pointer (2)]
Microsoft Microsoft 2.4GHz Transceiver v8.0 id=9 [slave pointer (2)]
Microsoft Microsoft 2.4GHz Transceiver v8.0 id=11 [slave pointer (2)]
Logitech USB Receiver id=13 [slave pointer (2)]
Virtual core keyboard id=3 [master keyboard (2)]
Virtual core XTEST keyboard id=5 [slave keyboard (3)]
Power Button id=6 [slave keyboard (3)]
Power Button id=7 [slave keyboard (3)]
Sleep Button id=8 [slave keyboard (3)]
HD WebCam id=14 [slave keyboard (3)]
AT Translated Set 2 keyboard id=15 [slave keyboard (3)]
Acer WMI hotkeys id=16 [slave keyboard (3)]
Microsoft Microsoft 2.4GHz Transceiver v8.0 id=10 [slave keyboard (3)]
Logitech USB Receiver id=12 [slave keyboard (3)]
[root@fedora ~]#
[root@fedora ~]#
[root@fedora ~]# xinput list-props 4
Device 'Virtual core XTEST pointer':
Device Enabled (117): 1
Coordinate Transformation Matrix (119): 1.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000, 1.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000, 0.000000, 1.000000
XTEST Device (234): 1
[root@fedora ~]#
[root@fedora ~]#
[root@fedora ~]# dmesg | grep XTEST
[root@fedora ~]#
[root@fedora ~]#


More ideas ?

Thanks, see you.
 
Old 06-27-2015, 04:31 AM   #4
ferrari
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 5,807

Rep: Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140
The touchpad is not recognised according to the xinput output. Make sure that is is enabled first. I've seen a couple of web pages (for a similar model) that suggests Fn+F7 might do that. The other suggestion that I have read is to check the BIOS setting for the touchpad - it might be possible to configure 'basic' mode from there and get it working. Failing that, it might be necessary to raise a bug report.
 
Old 06-27-2015, 04:34 AM   #5
ferrari
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 5,807

Rep: Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140
FWIW, one such page describing touchpad issues with similar Acer models...

http://blog.mdda.net/oss/2014/11/16/...11-c3nt-linux/
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 06-27-2015, 04:48 AM   #6
ferrari
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 5,807

Rep: Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140
It might be worth reviewing the answers given here too

http://www.wikiguga.com/topic/75daeb...fa4e2c99d07854

Quote:
Hi
I had similar problems with my Acer Aspire V3. Here's what I figured out:
Modern synaptics touchpads provide two modes of operation: one via i2c and one via ps2. There's no proper driver yet for the i2c mode, but the ps2 mode works just fine. The problem however is, that once the touchpad was detected as an i2c device it shuts down the ps2 mode until the next reboot. The solution is to blacklist the i2c-hid module so the device isn't initialized in i2c mode and the ps2 mode remains active.
On my machine I had to additionally set i8042.nopnp=1 on the kernel cmdline. Else the touchpad didn't work at all in ps2 mode. However you might not need this, or you might need i8042.nomux=1. Just try it out.
It may or may not be applicable. YMMV.
 
Old 07-02-2015, 09:26 AM   #7
xavi_slacky
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2013
Posts: 104

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrari View Post
FWIW, one such page describing touchpad issues with similar Acer models...

http://blog.mdda.net/oss/2014/11/16/...11-c3nt-linux/
Hi ferrari ,

This how-to solved my issue. Thanks.

See you.
 
Old 07-02-2015, 02:35 PM   #8
ferrari
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Location: Auckland, NZ
Distribution: openSUSE Leap
Posts: 5,807

Rep: Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140Reputation: 1140
That's great news. Thanks for the update.
 
Old 07-02-2015, 02:54 PM   #9
xavi_slacky
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2013
Posts: 104

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by ferrari View Post
That's great news. Thanks for the update.
Hi ferrari,

Thanks to you for your help.

See you.
 
Old 07-02-2015, 02:59 PM   #10
dugan
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Distribution: distro hopper
Posts: 11,226

Rep: Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320Reputation: 5320
I thought you were trying to run Linux on a fighter jet.
 
Old 07-02-2015, 03:37 PM   #11
xavi_slacky
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2013
Posts: 104

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugan View Post
I thought you were trying to run Linux on a fighter jet.
Hi dugan ,

Hehehe, 'F22' acronym ... yessss !

See you.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touchpad doesnt work lepass_7 Linux - Newbie 6 10-12-2009 10:50 AM
Touchpad doesn't work bvadr.dk Linux - Hardware 4 11-04-2005 11:58 PM
IBM laptop & touchpad & TrackPoint - touchpad doesn't work! espinosa_cz Linux - Laptop and Netbook 1 08-20-2004 12:45 PM
Getting touchpad to work? Klatuu Mandriva 1 12-18-2003 12:12 AM
touchpad can not work in Slackware9.1 preswang Slackware 4 10-29-2003 01:56 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Fedora

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration