LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Latest LQ Deals
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > Programming
User Name
Password
Programming This forum is for all programming questions.
The question does not have to be directly related to Linux and any language is fair game.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-13-2003, 09:15 AM   #1
dave4545
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Redhat Linux 7.0 Apache/1.3.27 PHP Version 4.3.1 server api Apache
Posts: 46

Rep: Reputation: 15
cron php under apache


Hi.
I have run into a problem.
I have searched extensively and have been unable to find the answer to my question.

I have a file called cron.php

I need to run this file daily using crontab.

I have tried just about everything that was suggested with no luck.
Come to find out I think the root of my problem is php was compiled under apache.

I can run cron.php from my browser but I really need to run it late at night and at a specific time.

Any expertise would be appreciated.
Thank you

Dave.
 
Old 04-13-2003, 09:30 AM   #2
david_ross
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Scotland
Distribution: Slackware, RedHat, Debian
Posts: 12,047

Rep: Reputation: 79
Why not use lynx:
lynx -source http://whatever/wherever/cron.php
 
Old 04-13-2003, 09:31 AM   #3
dave4545
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Redhat Linux 7.0 Apache/1.3.27 PHP Version 4.3.1 server api Apache
Posts: 46

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Is lynx hard to install?
I don't have it on my server.
 
Old 04-13-2003, 09:34 AM   #4
david_ross
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Scotland
Distribution: Slackware, RedHat, Debian
Posts: 12,047

Rep: Reputation: 79
Actullay I've had another look at the help section and you may be better with:
lynx -dump http://whatever/wherever/cron.php

I've only ever used source but using dump will parse the html so the output will look good in either a browser or in a log file.
 
Old 04-13-2003, 09:35 AM   #5
david_ross
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Scotland
Distribution: Slackware, RedHat, Debian
Posts: 12,047

Rep: Reputation: 79
Not hard at all - what disro are you using?
 
Old 04-13-2003, 09:52 AM   #6
dave4545
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Redhat Linux 7.0 Apache/1.3.27 PHP Version 4.3.1 server api Apache
Posts: 46

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Could you re-phrase that question?
I am a newby.
Thanks.
Dave.
 
Old 04-13-2003, 10:03 AM   #7
david_ross
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Scotland
Distribution: Slackware, RedHat, Debian
Posts: 12,047

Rep: Reputation: 79
It is not difficult to install. What linux operating system do you use? RedHat/Mandrake/SuSe

It is a good idea to put it in the "Distribution" section in your profile so that people can direct their help easier (It appears to the left of every message)
 
Old 04-13-2003, 10:20 AM   #8
dave4545
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Redhat Linux 7.0 Apache/1.3.27 PHP Version 4.3.1 server api Apache
Posts: 46

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Okay. I added it. Is that okay?
 
Old 04-13-2003, 10:36 AM   #9
david_ross
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Scotland
Distribution: Slackware, RedHat, Debian
Posts: 12,047

Rep: Reputation: 79
That is the version of apache (web server) and php.

It is the actual version of linux not the applications that run on it. At the top of the console screen (if you use a GUI then press "Ctrl + Alt + F2") you may see something like:
Red Hat Linux release 8.0 (Psyche)
Kernel 2.4.18-14 on an i686

The first line tells me that I am using "Red Hat 8.0"

You usually see this information when initiating a telnet session too.

If you are using a GUI then press "Ctrl + Alt + F7" to get back to it.

PS: GUI = Graphical User Interface
 
Old 04-13-2003, 12:22 PM   #10
dave4545
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Redhat Linux 7.0 Apache/1.3.27 PHP Version 4.3.1 server api Apache
Posts: 46

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
okay. I found it and added it to my profile.
 
Old 04-13-2003, 12:47 PM   #11
david_ross
Moderator
 
Registered: Mar 2003
Location: Scotland
Distribution: Slackware, RedHat, Debian
Posts: 12,047

Rep: Reputation: 79
That's what I needed!

Download:
ftp://rpmfind.net/linux/redhat/updat...4-9.1.i386.rpm

Then run this as root:
rpm -ivh /path/to/lynx-2.8.4-9.1.i386.rpm

Replace /path/to with the directory that you saved the lynx-2.8.4-9.1.i386.rpm file to. eg /home/dave4545
 
Old 04-13-2003, 01:04 PM   #12
dave4545
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Redhat Linux 7.0 Apache/1.3.27 PHP Version 4.3.1 server api Apache
Posts: 46

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
I really appreciate it David. I'll try it tonight. Gotta take the kid to see his grandparents. I'll let you know how the install goes.

Thanks.
Dave
 
Old 04-14-2003, 07:57 AM   #13
dave4545
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Redhat Linux 7.0 Apache/1.3.27 PHP Version 4.3.1 server api Apache
Posts: 46

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
hi.
hmm? I tried and got a few errors. I'm searching to see what it is....
Here is exactly how it looks.

[root@www3 rpm]# rpm -ivh /usr/local/lynx/lynx-2.8.4-9.1.i386.rpm
error: failed dependencies:
libcrypto.so.1 is needed by lynx-2.8.4-9.1
libssl.so.1 is needed by lynx-2.8.4-9.1
 
Old 04-14-2003, 08:08 AM   #14
dave4545
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Redhat Linux 7.0 Apache/1.3.27 PHP Version 4.3.1 server api Apache
Posts: 46

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Okay. I guess it means I need to install some more packages.
I looked at some and there are so many different versions.
How do you decide which one to use?

Thanks.
Dave.
 
Old 04-14-2003, 08:41 AM   #15
dave4545
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2002
Distribution: Redhat Linux 7.0 Apache/1.3.27 PHP Version 4.3.1 server api Apache
Posts: 46

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Okay.
I ignored the packages. Gonna see if that works.

Nope. Doesn't work without them.

Last edited by dave4545; 04-14-2003 at 08:49 AM.
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
shell script using /etc/cron.hourly to execute cron.php file? rioguia Programming 3 06-11-2008 08:09 AM
cron NOT running php script ??!! hendrixx Linux - Software 2 11-15-2006 07:18 AM
cron and PHP bokini Programming 2 07-28-2005 04:56 PM
php apache or php cgi - php learner rblampain Linux - Security 3 12-17-2004 11:10 PM
Setting cron by php code? VertiHost Programming 1 10-15-2003 06:41 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > Programming

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration