LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > General
User Name
Password
General This forum is for non-technical general discussion which can include both Linux and non-Linux topics. Have fun!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 12-13-2012, 03:46 PM   #1
snmcdonald
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Distribution: Debian, Arch
Posts: 55

Rep: Reputation: 0
How do you flash your BIOS with a Windows(not DOS) patch?


I would like to flash my BIOS but my vendor supplies a Window only installer. I do not have Windows on my machine.

I have attempted to use FreeDOS and I receive a not DOS compatible message. The update is an exe and the install instructions that come with the update say to double click the exe.
 
Old 12-13-2012, 04:35 PM   #2
foodown
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 611

Rep: Reputation: 221Reputation: 221Reputation: 221
What vendor is it?

There may be a third-party application to extract the flash image from the EXE, allowing you to use an alternate method of actually flashing the BIOS.
 
Old 12-13-2012, 04:37 PM   #3
snmcdonald
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Distribution: Debian, Arch
Posts: 55

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Acer V3-551

BIOS Files: http://support.acer.com/us/en/produc...1&modelId=4244
 
Old 12-13-2012, 04:49 PM   #4
snmcdonald
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Distribution: Debian, Arch
Posts: 55

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Microsoft provides provides a free live cd as long as you have a copy of Windows. If you don't have a copy I guess you have to beg a friend to make you the live cd. I will try this method and post back in the next while.

It's called Windows PE. It's sounds fairly functional with timeout and server restrictions to prevent pirating.

http://www.computerhope.com/forum/in...?topic=87312.0
 
Old 12-13-2012, 04:56 PM   #5
foodown
Member
 
Registered: Jun 2009
Location: Texas
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 611

Rep: Reputation: 221Reputation: 221Reputation: 221
Unfortunately, using some kind of live Windows environment is your only option in this case.

You can also use something like this: http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/

You'd need access to a machine running Windows XP or Server 2003 to use that tool.
 
Old 12-13-2012, 04:59 PM   #6
TobiSGD
Moderator
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Location: Germany
Distribution: Whatever fits the task best
Posts: 17,148
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886
If it doesn't work with the live version <ou have also the option just to use the 90-days evaluation version of Windows 8 Enterprise: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/eval.../jj554510.aspx
 
Old 12-13-2012, 07:04 PM   #7
Ztcoracat
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Dec 2011
Distribution: Slackware, MX 18
Posts: 9,484
Blog Entries: 15

Rep: Reputation: 1176Reputation: 1176Reputation: 1176Reputation: 1176Reputation: 1176Reputation: 1176Reputation: 1176Reputation: 1176Reputation: 1176
I went here to look at the ISO and the download.
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...s.aspx?id=5753

I have Win's XP Pro in a dual boot with Debian can I be of assistance somehow?

Trying to help-
 
Old 12-13-2012, 07:33 PM   #8
TobiSGD
Moderator
 
Registered: Dec 2009
Location: Germany
Distribution: Whatever fits the task best
Posts: 17,148
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886Reputation: 4886
The Windows AIK is for creating customized and automated Windows installation images. This will not help here (and runs only on Vista and newer anyways).
 
Old 12-15-2012, 10:54 AM   #9
snmcdonald
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Distribution: Debian, Arch
Posts: 55

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
After installing Windows 7 Automated Installation Kit I followed the following walkthrough:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l...(v=ws.10).aspx

There are a few changes that need to be followed:

Start the "Deployment Tools Command Prompt" from the start menu.

Type:

Code:
copype.cmd x86 c:\winpe_x86
Mount the Image:

Code:
imagex /mountrw WinPE.wim 1 c:\winpe_x86\mount\
Add any Flash Files:

Code:
cp c:\acerBIOSflash202.exe c:\winpe_x86\mount
Unmount Image:

Code:
imagex /unmount /commit c:\winpe_x86\mount
This step must be added (it is in the other walkthroughs). It will not boot otherwise.

Code:
xcopy c:\winpe_x86\winpe.wim c:\winpe_x86\iso\sources\boot.wim /y
To partition the disk you must leave the "Deployment Tools Command Prompt". If you stay in the "Deployment Tools Command Prompt" it will not create a proper bootable partition. Start a separate command prompt with administrator privileges. Replace disk 6 with your USB.

Code:
diskpart
list disk
select disk 6
clean
create partition primary size=<size of device>
select partition 1
active
format fs=fat32 quick
exit
Copy to your USB. Change "F:\" to the location of your drive.

Code:
xcopy c:\winpe_x86\iso\*.* /s /e /f f:\
Once you boot, you get a command prompt in a Windows environment.

Now you can navigate to the location of flash utility and install.

I hope this tutorial helps anyone else. It took a while to compile various walkthroughs and Q&As.

Note:
1. You cannot add the flash utility directly to the ISO. It has to be mounted into the actual boot.wmi.

2. If the disk fails to boot ensure that the active flag (boot) is set in diskpart.

Last edited by snmcdonald; 12-15-2012 at 12:05 PM. Reason: Additional Comments
 
Old 12-15-2012, 12:47 PM   #10
onebuck
Moderator
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: Central Florida 20 minutes from Disney World
Distribution: SlackwareŽ
Posts: 13,925
Blog Entries: 44

Rep: Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159
Moderator Response

Moved: This thread is more suitable in <General> and has been moved accordingly to help your thread/question get the exposure it deserves.
 
Old 12-15-2012, 12:50 PM   #11
snmcdonald
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Distribution: Debian, Arch
Posts: 55

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by onebuck View Post
Moved: This thread is more suitable in <General> and has been moved accordingly to help your thread/question get the exposure it deserves.
This thread was marked solved in Linux General... Is there no optin for Non-*NIX Forums?

I would like to appeal this is very Linux related and should not be moved... I do not have Windows on my computer and I need to flash my BIOS.
 
Old 12-15-2012, 01:14 PM   #12
onebuck
Moderator
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: Central Florida 20 minutes from Disney World
Distribution: SlackwareŽ
Posts: 13,925
Blog Entries: 44

Rep: Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159
Moderator Response

Quote:
Originally Posted by snmcdonald View Post
This thread was marked solved in Linux General... Is there no optin for Non-*NIX Forums?

I would like to appeal this is very Linux related and should not be moved... I do not have Windows on my computer and I need to flash my BIOS.
Does not matter that you marked a Microsoft support thread [Solved] in the <Linux-General> forum;
Quote:
Linux - General This Linux forum is for general Linux questions and discussion.
If it is Linux Related and doesn't seem to fit in any other forum then this is the place.
Belongs in: LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > General
Quote:
General This forum is for non-technical general discussion which can include both Linux and non-Linux topics. Have fun!
If the BIOS flash is only supported for your machine via Microsoft then that will be the way to go. Several members have suggested good methods to make use of temporary use of a MS based facility/utilities. This thread can be found via LQ search engine.
 
Old 12-15-2012, 01:46 PM   #13
snmcdonald
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Distribution: Debian, Arch
Posts: 55

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
Belongs in: LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > General

Quote:
General This forum is for non-technical general discussion which can include both Linux and non-Linux topics. Have fun!
With all due respect this is a technical discussion.

Last edited by snmcdonald; 12-15-2012 at 01:58 PM.
 
Old 12-15-2012, 02:06 PM   #14
onebuck
Moderator
 
Registered: Jan 2005
Location: Central Florida 20 minutes from Disney World
Distribution: SlackwareŽ
Posts: 13,925
Blog Entries: 44

Rep: Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159Reputation: 3159
Moderator Response

It has been determined this is a 'Microsoft support thread' technical or non-technical this type of thread will be moved to <General>.
From LQ Rules;
Quote:
Your thread may be moved to a more appropriate forum at a moderator's discretion.
Please get back on topic within this thread.

Enough said!
 
Old 12-15-2012, 02:26 PM   #15
snmcdonald
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2011
Location: Canada
Distribution: Debian, Arch
Posts: 55

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
I spent a good portion of the morning upgrading my BIOS so I could enable stable UEFI support for Linux. My vendor only provides a Windows patch. I was hoping to share my solution with the linuxquestions.org community.

Sorry if I am a little disappointed that my solution was relegated to off-topic discussions, like current events.

Last edited by snmcdonald; 12-15-2012 at 02:55 PM.
 
  


Reply

Tags
bios+flash, windows



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Need to flash BIOS, can I execute in Wine or have to reinstall Windows? barnac1e Linux - Hardware 12 02-22-2012 09:30 PM
Flash BIOS or not? Compare BIOS features? SChipS Linux - General 4 04-20-2010 08:46 PM
Frugal install of GRUB based distro on a USB flash drive from Windows/DOS ? kumarkumar Linux - Newbie 3 06-02-2008 04:26 PM
LXer: How to flash motherboard BIOS from Linux (no DOS/Windows, no floppy drive)? LXer Syndicated Linux News 1 03-11-2007 07:24 AM
How to flash bios with no floppy driver or Windows Installation RemusX2 Linux - Hardware 2 06-02-2006 03:49 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Non-*NIX Forums > General

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:25 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration