LinuxQuestions.org
Review your favorite Linux distribution.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-28-2003, 01:23 AM   #1
w00t
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: MDK
Posts: 66

Rep: Reputation: 15
n00b Review of Linux.


Ok i have used Windows for around 4 years or more and have tryed Linux befor but only for like 5 mins at a time at a frineds and so on anyway as for people who try it then remove it i think they are making a mistake as Linux *well the distro i use MDK 9.1* seems to be a user friendly Linux once you have learnt a few basic commands i see the rest starts falling into place.
The only thing i can see is the problem is the same problem i think most people would see and that is the support from companys ie: Software and Games but if you look around or ask you normany find what you looking for and with Games well if its a good game then at some point it stands a good chance at being released for the OS.
Basicly for the sake of a 5GB or 10GB Partition *and most new PC's now come with 100GB + drives* you cant go wrong with installing it and learning it at your own pace.

My View of Linux = Good OS
Will it ever beat Windows?: Posibly
Will i switch to Linux and remove Windows?: If when i have learnt the OS more and i see no reason for windows yes
Overall view: 100+ distros = surely you can find the system that suits you and if you dont you can allways edit it

Last edited by w00t; 05-28-2003 at 01:25 AM.
 
Old 05-28-2003, 02:00 AM   #2
Subleak
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: Debian 3.0 & RedHat 9.0
Posts: 18

Rep: Reputation: 0
lol good review i guess?

after a week of trying to get my nvidia drivers installed and working... finally im able to post with-in linux... i to (as many others) am a gamer at heart, PC tech on the side... working with windows... too much... makes me want to learn something new. Linux is the best alternative in my eyes. Though i am upset i havent been able to play my games yet (either i havent installed them through "Wine" or they arent playable in linux) im sure one day that there will be more and more programers/software devs working on titles for linux also.. when that day comes (and the titles work with few "bugs") then bye bye to yee ol' windows.

Seeing Mac OSX coming out also lightens the future of UNIX and in my eyes gives a healthy push in the right direction.
 
Old 05-28-2003, 02:59 AM   #3
w00t
Member
 
Registered: May 2003
Distribution: MDK
Posts: 66

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by Subleak
lol good review i guess?

after a week of trying to get my nvidia drivers installed and working... finally im able to post with-in linux... i to (as many others) am a gamer at heart, PC tech on the side... working with windows... too much... makes me want to learn something new. Linux is the best alternative in my eyes. Though i am upset i havent been able to play my games yet (either i havent installed them through "Wine" or they arent playable in linux) im sure one day that there will be more and more programers/software devs working on titles for linux also.. when that day comes (and the titles work with few "bugs") then bye bye to yee ol' windows.

Seeing Mac OSX coming out also lightens the future of UNIX and in my eyes gives a healthy push in the right direction.
Good review, lol maybe isnt for me to say lol *if you even want to call it a review*

With more support the system could really take off but since 1991 the system has come a long way with limited support it has had *dont know exactly how much it has had* but as time gows on the suport will grow

Here are some links for you if your a gamer.

http://www.lokigames.com/
http://www.linuxgaming.net/
http://www.linuxgames.com/
 
Old 05-28-2003, 10:36 AM   #4
tcaptain
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Jul 2002
Location: Montreal
Distribution: Gentoo 2004 from stage 1 baby!
Posts: 1,403

Rep: Reputation: 45
Quote:
Originally posted by w00t
With more support the system could really take off but since 1991 the system has come a long way with limited support it has had *dont know exactly how much it has had* but as time gows on the suport will grow
What support? Do you mean support from companies? If so, I totally agree. I'm starting to play more and more games in Linux, but my big faves are still in Windows only (Morrowind for one and Never Winter Nights, which, while the client is beta, I still can't get to run in linux ...yet).

(Note: If any linux gamer reading this knows the old win95 game Magic The Gathering and can run it in Wine or winex, let me know )

If you mean like tech support, well then you're wrong There's such a huge community that its hard NOT to get help if you try...personally that's what I love about Linux...the community aspect of it...you don't see as many windows boards or windows user groups as such.
 
Old 05-28-2003, 10:57 AM   #5
neenee
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2003
Location: Netherlands
Distribution: debian (sid)
Posts: 693

Rep: Reputation: 30
i will quote myself on this:

'as for linux and the need to beat windows;
linux does not need to beat it at all in my
opinion. it should just be there, for those
who want to use it. let windows keep it's
quirks and perks. and let us have linux the
way we like it; with us in the drivers' seat,
happily rolling along at our own pace, instead
of the car having no steering wheel'
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mandrake Linux 10.1 Official - A Review Linux24 Mandriva 25 01-17-2005 12:35 PM
Linux security review mdk Linux - Security 4 08-26-2004 10:28 PM
Linux+ Review Questions kemplej Linux - Certification 1 05-03-2004 11:50 AM
Slack based Vector Linux 4 Review Skyline Slackware 2 10-27-2003 09:33 PM
--->SuSE Linux 7.3 Review<---- therion12 Linux - Distributions 32 02-03-2002 12:20 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration