LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-19-2002, 05:51 AM   #1
WindowsDefector
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2002
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0
Posts: 17

Rep: Reputation: 0
Missing MP3/sound file preview


At one time I used to be able to hover my mouse over an MP3 file and it would play/preview the file until I moved my mouse off of it. Now for some reason it doesn't do that anymore. My default for MP3's is mpg123 and that has never been changed, and I'm running RH 7.2 & Gnome. Does anyone know what this feature or setting is called and how do I get it back?
 
Old 05-19-2002, 09:36 AM   #2
MasterC
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT - USA
Distribution: Gentoo ; LFS ; Kubuntu
Posts: 12,612

Rep: Reputation: 64
Yeah, and I remember that too. It's pretty cool sometimes. Anyway, it's in your control panel, and it's with the part where you can also configure to show small pictures instead of default icons. I think if you go to Configure---System, it's in there. I think, when I get home I will check and if not, I will reply with correct info.
 
Old 05-19-2002, 11:22 PM   #3
MasterC
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2002
Location: Salt Lake City, UT - USA
Distribution: Gentoo ; LFS ; Kubuntu
Posts: 12,612

Rep: Reputation: 64
Dude, I found it. In Konqueror you can click view and then preview. Choose sound files. Cool
 
Old 05-21-2002, 11:04 PM   #4
WindowsDefector
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: May 2002
Distribution: Mandrake 10.0
Posts: 17

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 0
K,

But I'm using Nautilus.

It works again, but only 'cause I reinstalled RH. Still haven't figured out what turns it on and off.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No file preview in konqueror 3.2.2 justus77 Linux - Newbie 0 07-08-2004 04:28 AM
Preview of sound juddha Fedora 4 02-12-2004 02:42 AM
mp3 preview in konqueror tommot Fedora 0 11-11-2003 07:30 AM
How do I turn off auto preview of sound and video? warkrime Linux - Newbie 1 07-16-2003 07:52 PM
Turn MP3 Preview off in Konqueror pacman Linux - Software 1 06-19-2003 01:37 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration