LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - General
User Name
Password
Linux - General This Linux forum is for general Linux questions and discussion.
If it is Linux Related and doesn't seem to fit in any other forum then this is the place.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 10-26-2006, 01:35 PM   #1
BiThian
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: Romania
Distribution: NetBSD 3.1
Posts: 118

Rep: Reputation: 15
VIM - How to map Ctrl-F5?


I tried:
Code:
:map <Ctrl><F5>[stuff]
:map <C-<F5>>[stuff]
It didn't work. So, any ideas?
 
Old 10-26-2006, 02:15 PM   #2
druuna
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Posts: 10,532
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405
Hi,

You don't need the <C> / <ctrl> part:

:map <F5> <stuff>
 
Old 10-26-2006, 02:21 PM   #3
BiThian
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: Romania
Distribution: NetBSD 3.1
Posts: 118

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
I know that, but I want to press Ctrl+F5 to do the <stuff>. Is it possible in Vim?
 
Old 10-26-2006, 02:26 PM   #4
druuna
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Posts: 10,532
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405
Hi,

Sorry about that, speed reading isn't always a good thing

:map <C-F5> <stuff>

If this works also depends on the window manager you are using. I'm using XFCE and ctrl f5 brings up one of the virtual screens, it overrides the C-F5 in vim........ Shift does work though (<S-F5>).

Hope I got it correct this time
 
Old 10-26-2006, 02:33 PM   #5
BiThian
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: Romania
Distribution: NetBSD 3.1
Posts: 118

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Yep, you got it correct, but unfortunately it doesn't seem to work (I use fluxbox, and in my keys file I didn't define Ctrl+F5, so I don't know what's the problem). However, thanks for your help
 
Old 10-26-2006, 04:04 PM   #6
BiThian
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2006
Location: Romania
Distribution: NetBSD 3.1
Posts: 118

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 15
Oops! Not Fluxbox was the problem, but screen. I work for so long with it, that I forgot I even use it. C-F5 worked beautifully...
 
Old 10-26-2006, 04:15 PM   #7
druuna
LQ Veteran
 
Registered: Sep 2003
Posts: 10,532
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405Reputation: 2405
Glad I could be of service
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
vim map Caps Lock to Escape sadarax Linux - General 3 01-30-2010 01:16 PM
Vim map - to _ and the reverse sadarax Linux - Software 1 08-27-2006 10:52 PM
LXer: Cream for Vim - Making Vim more user friendly LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 06-17-2006 11:54 PM
ctrl+c & ctrl+v equivalent for Gnome terminal window? halfpower Linux - General 2 11-29-2005 02:57 AM
no ctrl-a or ctrl-z in emacs or on command line? ashlock Fedora 5 12-30-2003 08:00 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - General

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration