LinuxQuestions.org
Register a domain and help support LQ
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Debian
User Name
Password
Debian This forum is for the discussion of Debian Linux.

Notices

Reply
 
Search this Thread
Old 09-19-2011, 05:35 PM   #1
kasl33
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Bremerton, WA
Distribution: Arch, Debian, Ubuntu, Ubuntu-Server, CentOS, OSX Lion
Posts: 351

Rep: Reputation: 47
What is the name of the program that runs when you press Alt+F2?


This is for Debian users. I removed a bunch of "startup" programs from gnome-session-properties and the program that runs when pressing Alt+F2 seems to have become one of them.

It is NOT gmrun; that wasn't even installed. Thanks for anybody's help in advance.
 
Old 09-19-2011, 05:51 PM   #2
etech3
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2009
Location: Virginia
Distribution: Debian Stable Testing Sid Slackware CentOS
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 44
Mine does

run app
 
Old 09-19-2011, 05:58 PM   #3
kasl33
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Bremerton, WA
Distribution: Arch, Debian, Ubuntu, Ubuntu-Server, CentOS, OSX Lion
Posts: 351

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by etech3 View Post
Mine does

run app
What do you mean by that? I'm looking for the actual name of the program - not the window title.
 
Old 09-19-2011, 06:15 PM   #4
etech3
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jul 2009
Location: Virginia
Distribution: Debian Stable Testing Sid Slackware CentOS
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 44
The Run Application dialog gives you access to the command line.

It's a shortcut.

do the alt+f2 and then click on the help button bottom left.
 
Old 09-19-2011, 06:21 PM   #5
kasl33
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2004
Location: Bremerton, WA
Distribution: Arch, Debian, Ubuntu, Ubuntu-Server, CentOS, OSX Lion
Posts: 351

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by etech3 View Post
The Run Application dialog gives you access to the command line.

It's a shortcut.

do the alt+f2 and then click on the help button bottom left.
I'm aware of that! That's why I'm trying to figure out the name of the program - because it broke and wouldn't work. However, after rebooting again it magically started working again.

At this point, I'm convinced it's part of the gnome-panel program because it worked once that came back.

Thanks for your help...
 
Old 09-19-2011, 09:36 PM   #6
sgosnell
Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: Baja Oklahoma
Distribution: Debian
Posts: 349

Rep: Reputation: 60
Alt-F2 doesn't run a program, it's a system shortcut. To change what it does, open System/Preferences/Keyboard Shortcuts, and to to System. Open Command Prompt is by default Alt-F2, and you can change that to something else or restore the default.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
unable to resume from s2disk till I press Alt+PrtSc+R+E adityavpratap Linux - Laptop and Netbook 2 07-07-2011 10:49 PM
BOOTMGR is missing, Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart ! TheIndependentAquarius General 24 07-16-2010 09:24 AM
ntldr missing press alt + ctrl .... ankuryu Linux - Newbie 1 05-25-2007 05:16 AM
How to press Alt + F1 keys programmatically in Linux dipk_23 Programming 4 05-10-2007 01:01 AM
How do you press Ctrl,Alt and shift? littertiger Programming 4 05-17-2005 03:00 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.

Main Menu
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
identi.ca: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration