LinuxQuestions.org
Welcome to the most active Linux Forum on the web.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Newbie
User Name
Password
Linux - Newbie This Linux forum is for members that are new to Linux.
Just starting out and have a question? If it is not in the man pages or the how-to's this is the place!

Notices

Search this Thread
Old 04-16-2024, 09:06 AM   #1
FingerBobber
LQ Newbie

Rep: Reputation: 0
Write-protected file with Extents attribute refuses to die (ubuntu)

gm ...newbie here struggling with something that should be easy.

I'm installing bitcoin core on linux (ubuntu), and have a problem overwriting a write-protected file (bitcoind.service). I've Googled and asked ChatGPT and searched the forum archive/FAQs. The solutions I've tried include the following ...but these haven't worked:

This does not work: sudo chmod +w filename
This does not work: sudo rm filename
This does not work: sudo rm -f filename
This does not work: rm -f filename

When I check via lsattr I get (something like): ---------------e------- bitcoind.service (I believe the 'e' stands for Extents).

Been at this for hours. Basically, my "bitcoind.service" file is faulty and when I recreated it I got "bitcoind.service.1". So I'm trying to replace "bitcoind.service" with "bitcoind.service.1"

Hope this makes sense. I'd appreciate any pointers - thanks in advance

Old 04-16-2024, 10:54 AM   #2
jayjwa

Distribution: Slackware, Termux

Rep: Reputation: 246Reputation: 246Reputation: 246
Likey something is re-creating the file on the fly. https://unix.stackexchange.com/quest...ute-from-linux

1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-16-2024, 02:13 PM   #3
yancek
LQ Guru

Distribution: Slackware, Ubuntu, PCLinux,

Rep: Reputation: 2494Reputation: 2494Reputation: 2494Reputation: 2494Reputation: 2494Reputation: 2494Reputation: 2494Reputation: 2494Reputation: 2494Reputation: 2494Reputation: 2494