LinuxQuestions.org
Latest LQ Deal: Linux Power User Bundle
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software
User Name
Password
Linux - Software This forum is for Software issues.
Having a problem installing a new program? Want to know which application is best for the job? Post your question in this forum.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 12-04-2018, 11:25 PM   #1
lucmove
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Debian Stretch
Posts: 866

Rep: Reputation: 78
Black screen at boot hides grub (but boot still works)


That happens sometimes: I boot up and never get to see the grub menu because the screen is completely black, as if it's turned off. Google shows me many similar stories, but not quite the same because the machine won't boot in those cases. Mine does. It remains black for a while then it comes on when (or because?) there is a Luks crypto prompt for a password.

It doesn't happen every time, which makes things even more mysterious for me. Does anyone here know why that happens?

I wonder if I should have posted this in the Hardware section.

TIA
 
Old 12-05-2018, 03:23 PM   #2
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 10,170
Blog Entries: 7

Rep: Reputation: 2517Reputation: 2517Reputation: 2517Reputation: 2517Reputation: 2517Reputation: 2517Reputation: 2517Reputation: 2517Reputation: 2517Reputation: 2517Reputation: 2517
my monitor is slow to switch on, sometimes the boot is already past the POST when it finally comes on.
maybe a similar problem here?
can you still enter the passwd?
 
Old 12-05-2018, 04:20 PM   #3
lucmove
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Debian Stretch
Posts: 866

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 78
Could be, but it doesn't happen most of the time.
Yes, I can enter the password and boot up.
 
Old 12-06-2018, 11:29 AM   #4
KenJackson
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland, USA
Distribution: Fedora and others
Posts: 719

Rep: Reputation: 141Reputation: 141
You're PC isn't by chance a Dell Inspiron 1525 laptop, is it? There's a known bug in the Intel graphics driver that has no priority.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-06-2018, 11:33 AM   #5
lucmove
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Debian Stretch
Posts: 866

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 78
No, it's a desktop of no particular brand provided by a systems integrator. Asus motherboard and Intel CPU.
The video card is Intel though. So maybe you're on to something.

Last edited by lucmove; 12-06-2018 at 11:34 AM.
 
Old 12-06-2018, 11:51 AM   #6
KenJackson
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2006
Location: Maryland, USA
Distribution: Fedora and others
Posts: 719

Rep: Reputation: 141Reputation: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucmove View Post
Asus motherboard and Intel CPU.
The video card is Intel though. So maybe you're on to something.
Here's some stuff displayed by the dmesg command on mine. Grep for some of this stuff to see if it's the same on yours.
Code:
[114397.621804] [drm:drm_atomic_helper_wait_for_flip_done [drm_kms_helper]] *ERROR* [CRTC:41:pipe B] flip_done timed out
[114397.722850] ------------[ cut here ]------------
[114397.722857] vblank wait timed out on crtc 1
[114397.723037] WARNING: CPU: 0 PID: 779 at drivers/gpu/drm/drm_vblank.c:1084 drm_wait_one_vblank+0x161/0x170 [drm]
[114397.723040] Modules linked in: xt_CHECKSUM ipt_MASQUERADE tun bridge stp llc ...
[114397.723178]  cfg80211 dcdbas joydev i2c_i801 dell_smm_hwmon rfkill r592 snd_timer ...
[114397.723251] CPU: 0 PID: 779 Comm: Xorg Tainted: G     W      4.19.5-300.fc29.x86_64 #1
[114397.723254] Hardware name: Dell Inc. Inspiron 1525        /0U990C, BIOS A13 06/27/2008
...
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 12-06-2018, 02:22 PM   #7
lucmove
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2005
Location: Brazil
Distribution: Debian Stretch
Posts: 866

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: 78
I think I don't have any of that.

Code:
dmesg | grep -i warning
[    5.975821] ACPI Warning: SystemIO range 0x0000000000000428-0x000000000000042F conflicts with OpRegion 0x0000000000000400-0x000000000000047F (\PMIO) (20160831/utaddress-247)
[    5.975826] ACPI Warning: SystemIO range 0x0000000000000540-0x000000000000054F conflicts with OpRegion 0x0000000000000500-0x0000000000000563 (\GPIO) (20160831/utaddress-247)
[    5.975829] ACPI Warning: SystemIO range 0x0000000000000540-0x000000000000054F conflicts with OpRegion 0x0000000000000500-0x000000000000057F (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.GPBX) (20160831/utaddress-247)
[    5.975831] ACPI Warning: SystemIO range 0x0000000000000530-0x000000000000053F conflicts with OpRegion 0x0000000000000500-0x0000000000000563 (\GPIO) (20160831/utaddress-247)
[    5.975833] ACPI Warning: SystemIO range 0x0000000000000530-0x000000000000053F conflicts with OpRegion 0x0000000000000500-0x000000000000057F (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.GPBX) (20160831/utaddress-247)
[    5.975835] ACPI Warning: SystemIO range 0x0000000000000500-0x000000000000052F conflicts with OpRegion 0x0000000000000500-0x0000000000000563 (\GPIO) (20160831/utaddress-247)
[    5.975836] ACPI Warning: SystemIO range 0x0000000000000500-0x000000000000052F conflicts with OpRegion 0x0000000000000500-0x000000000000057F (\_SB.PCI0.LPCB.GPBX) (20160831/utaddress-247)
[    5.975838] ACPI Warning: SystemIO range 0x0000000000000500-0x000000000000052F conflicts with OpRegion 0x0000000000000500-0x000000000000050F (\_GPE.GPIO) (20160831/utaddress-247)
I can't reboot, I've got pots on the stove I can't turn off right now. Will check again later. Thanks.
 
Old 12-07-2018, 12:57 AM   #8
mrmazda
Member
 
Registered: Aug 2016
Location: USA
Distribution: openSUSE, Debian, Knoppix, Mageia, Fedora, others
Posts: 830

Rep: Reputation: 248Reputation: 248Reputation: 248
Some BIOS POST too fast. Some displays wake up slowly, some very much too slowly, if at all, until they get a mode change command from the kernel. When slow display and fast POST combine, things can happen that cannot be seen. Maybe all you need is a longer GRUB_TIMEOUT= in /etc/default/grub/ (followed by updating grub.cfg).
 
1 members found this post helpful.
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot-repair ran twice- why is my screen still black after grub menu? eco_bach Linux - Software 7 01-04-2017 08:00 PM
Get Black Screen at Boot But Recovery Mode then Resume Works OK slurt Linux Mint 1 08-13-2014 01:54 AM
Infinite Grub Loop: GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB GRUB... beeblequix MEPIS 2 11-02-2013 11:56 PM
[SOLVED] Black screen, works on VGA to monitor but not on VGA to TV junkjunk Ubuntu 14 07-07-2009 06:32 AM
XAWTV works, videodog works, motion works but how to code my own? rylan76 Linux - Hardware 0 01-06-2006 07:30 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Software

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration