LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop
User Name
Password
Linux - Desktop This forum is for the discussion of all Linux Software used in a desktop context.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2018, 05:04 PM   #16
Mill J
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2017
Location: 127.0.0.1 Sweet 127.0.0.1
Distribution: Void, LFS,Tahrpup, Quirky on Rpi and many others
Posts: 845
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 302Reputation: 302Reputation: 302Reputation: 302

It seems you have another Kubuntu install somewhere else? Would it be possible to copy the xorg.conf file over. Or you might live boot the version of Ubuntu you have installed and copy the stock xorg.conf file over. I don't know if it'll work but it might get you back to gui.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 07-09-2018, 08:26 PM   #17
Rinkon
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2018
Posts: 23

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Tank you Mill J.

I'm following you. I started Ubuntu by live-cd, and in that way, the 3 monitors work perfectly. So I copy the "xrandr", that was perfectly configurated. I was unable to open the xorg.conf. (I don't know how to open the xorg using live-cd. It didn't work)

So, I made a copy of the xrandr, that works perfectly, but now that I'm without Ubuntu GUI acess, I don't know how to "write" the 'correct' xrandr.

By the way, please correct me if I'm wrong, but if I was able to have a terminal in GUI mode( I have the Kali), could I config the xrandr just by pasting it?

Now, how can I add the correct Ubuntu xrandr into the Kali terminal? Is it the correct way?

Last edited by Rinkon; 07-09-2018 at 08:32 PM.
 
Old 07-09-2018, 08:49 PM   #18
Mill J
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2017
Location: 127.0.0.1 Sweet 127.0.0.1
Distribution: Void, LFS,Tahrpup, Quirky on Rpi and many others
Posts: 845
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 302Reputation: 302Reputation: 302Reputation: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rinkon View Post
Tank you Mill J.

I'm following you. I started Ubuntu by live-cd, and in that way, the 3 monitors work perfectly. So I copy the "xrandr", that was perfectly configurated. I was unable to open the xorg.conf. (I don't know how to open the xorg using live-cd. It didn't work)
Try sudo nautilus or sudo nano /path to xorg.conf

Quote:
So, I made a copy of the xrandr, that works perfectly, but now that I'm without Ubuntu GUI acess, I don't know how to "write" the 'correct' xrandr.

By the way, please correct me if I'm wrong, but if I was able to have a terminal in GUI mode( I have the Kali), could I config the xrandr just by pasting it?

Now, how can I add the correct Ubuntu xrandr into the Kali terminal? Is it the correct way?
I'm not completely sure what you mean by xrandr, is it a command? If it is than yes. Remember anything you do with xrandr only lasts until reboot. You'll have to run(automatically via script, etc) the command at start-up to make it persistent.

I'm also going to ask you the obvious, did you try logging in the broke Ubuntu without the extra monitors plugged in?
 
Old 07-10-2018, 06:18 AM   #19
ondoho
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Dec 2013
Posts: 8,745
Blog Entries: 5

Rep: Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141Reputation: 2141
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rinkon View Post
dmesg | grep error
this is not quite enough.
i'd rather recommend a broader search, e.g.:
Code:
dmesg | grep -iEC3 'error|fail'
 
Old 07-10-2018, 08:08 PM   #20
Rinkon
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2018
Posts: 23

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
ondoho, I did try the command that you suggest, nothing new.

Mill J, yes, I tried starting my Ubuntu with just "Screen0", the monitor that xrandr recognize. Also, nothing new.

I guess that what I need is just add at Kali "xrandr" command the configuration of the ubuntu live-cd xrandr config that I have copied. But I don't know how.

Last edited by Rinkon; 07-10-2018 at 08:18 PM.
 
Old 07-10-2018, 08:49 PM   #21
Mill J
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2017
Location: 127.0.0.1 Sweet 127.0.0.1
Distribution: Void, LFS,Tahrpup, Quirky on Rpi and many others
Posts: 845
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 302Reputation: 302Reputation: 302Reputation: 302
Could you post the xrandr command you copied?
 
Old 07-10-2018, 08:56 PM   #22
Rinkon
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2018
Posts: 23

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Here it goes my ubuntu live-cd xrandr(I don't know why when I post, the text loses the spaces and diagram):

Screen 0: minimum 320x200, current 3990 x 900 , maximum 8192 x8192
HDMI-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x ais y axis)
DP-1 disconnected (normal left inverted right x ais y axis)
HDMI-2 connected primary 16500x900+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 443mm x 249mm
1600x900 60.00+
1440x900 74.98 59.90
1280x800 74.93 59.91
1152x864 75.00
1280x720 60.00 50.00 59.94
1024x768 75.03 70.07 60.00
832x624 74.55
800x600 72.19 60.32 56.25
720x576 50.00
720x480 60.00 59.94
640x480 75.00 72.81 66.67 60.00 59.94
720x400 70.08
DVI-D-1-1 connected 1366x768+1600+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
1366x768 59.79*+
1360x768 60.02
1024x768 75.03 72.00 70.07 60.00
832x624 74.55
800x600 72.19 75.00 60.32 56.25
640x480 75.00 72.81 66.67 59.94
720x400 70.08
HDMI-1-3 disconnected(normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VGA-1-1 connected 1024x768+2966+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
1024x768 60.00*+ 75.03 70.07
832x624 74.55
800x600 72.19 75.00 60.32 56.25
640x480 75.00 72.81 66.67 59.94
720x400 70.08
1024x768(0x49) 78.75MHz`+HSync +VSync
h:width 1024 start 1040 end 1136 total 1312 skew 0 clock 60.02KHz
v:height 768 start 769 end 772 total 800 clock 75.03Hz
1024x768(0x4b) 75.000MHz -HSync -VSync
h: width 1024 start 1048 end 1184 total 1328 skew 0 clock 56.48KHz
v:height 768 start 771 end 777 total 806 clock 70.07Hz
1024x768(0x4c) 65000MHz -HSync -VSync
h:width 1024 start 1048 end 1184 total 1344 skew 0 clock 48.36KHz
v:height 768 start 771 end 777 total 806 clock 60.00Hz
832x624 (0x4d) 57.284MHz -HSync -VSync
h:width 832 start 864 end 928 total 1152 skew 0 clock 49.73KHz
v:height 624 start 625 end 628 total 667 clock 74.55Hz
800x600 (0x4e) 50.000MHz +HSync +VSync
h:width 800 start 864 end 976 total 1040 skew 0 clock 48.08KHz
v:height 600 start 637 end 643 total 666 clock 72.19Hz
800x600(0x4f) 49.500MHz +HSync +Sync
h:width 800 start 816 end 896 total 1056 skew 0 clock 46.88KHz
v:height 600 start 601 end 604 total 625 clock 75.00Hz 800x600(0x50) 36.000MHz +HSync +VSync
h:width 800 start 816 end 968 total 1056 skew 0 clock 37.88KHz
v:height 600 start 601 end 605 total 628 skew clock 60.32Hz
800x600(0x51) 36.000MH z +HSync +VSync
h:width 800 start 824 end 896 total 1024 skew 0 clock 35.16KHz
v:height 600 start 601 end 603 total 625 clock 56.25Hz
640x480(0x52) 36.000MHz +HSync +VSync
h:with 640 start 656 end 720 total 840 skew 0 clock 37.50Khz
v:height 480 start 491 end 484 total 500 skew clock 75.00Hz
640x480(0x53) 31.500MHz -HSync -VSync
h:with 640 start 656 end 704 total 840 skew 0 clock 37.86Khz
v:height 480 start 489 end 492 total 520 clock 71.81Hz
640x480(0x54) 30.24MHz`-HSync -VSync
h:width 640 start 740 end 768 total 864 skew 0 clock 35.00KHz
v:height 480 start 483 end 486 total 525 clock 66.67Hz
640x480(0x55) 25.175MHz -HSync -VSync
h:width 640 start 656 end 752 total 800 skew 0 clock 31.47KHz
v:height 480 start 490 end 492 total 525` skew clock 59.94Hz
720x400(0x56) 28.32MHz -HSync +VSync
h:with 720 start 738 end 846 total 900 skew 0 clock 31.47KHz
v:height 400 start 412 end 414 total 449 clock 70.08Hz

Last edited by Rinkon; 07-10-2018 at 09:01 PM.
 
Old 07-10-2018, 10:09 PM   #23
Mill J
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2017
Location: 127.0.0.1 Sweet 127.0.0.1
Distribution: Void, LFS,Tahrpup, Quirky on Rpi and many others
Posts: 845
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 302Reputation: 302Reputation: 302Reputation: 302
Ok so that is the output when you run xrandr on Ubuntu Live? It probably won't work to copy it over.

I don't have much experience with Debian(Kali).

Looking back over the thread I'm wondering if maybe you have some driver, modules, etc messed up.

In lxrandr there is a "use this display" checkbox for every monitor. Does it allow you to select and configure it? Obviously this won't work under the broken Ubuntu.
 
Old 07-11-2018, 04:05 PM   #24
Rinkon
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2018
Posts: 23

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Mill J, why do you think that this output will not work?

The driver was a problem. When I was trying the Nvidia driver, nothing did work well and the other monitors were not recognized( at xrandr). So, I downloaded and installed the "Nouveau" driver, and then, with this new driver, the xrandr begin to recognize the others Monitors( although as "disconnected" status).

I cannot get arandr ou lxandr in Kali.

I was trying to use arandr at ubuntu, although the others monitors were recognized, I couldn't select them...They stay off, I was unable to "chose" and edit it.
 
Old 07-11-2018, 04:28 PM   #25
Mill J
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2017
Location: 127.0.0.1 Sweet 127.0.0.1
Distribution: Void, LFS,Tahrpup, Quirky on Rpi and many others
Posts: 845
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 302Reputation: 302Reputation: 302Reputation: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rinkon View Post
Mill J, why do you think that this output will not work?
This is the output of the command, not the command or settings itself.
Quote:
The driver was a problem. When I was trying the Nvidia driver, nothing did work well and the other monitors were not recognized( at xrandr). So, I downloaded and installed the "Nouveau" driver, and then, with this new driver, the xrandr begin to recognize the others Monitors( although as "disconnected" status).
As I said earlier, I'm beginning to think it is a driver or kernel module problem. What I'd do next is live boot Ubuntu and see what drivers and modules are being used in the live version. Run synaptic and search for nvidia, etc.

Also check what modules are loaded with lsmod, more info here http://edoceo.com/howto/kernel-modules You could possibly have conflicting drivers and maybe you need to blacklist one.

I've never had to deal with nvidia cards since my cheap laptops have always had Radeon cards
 
Old 07-13-2018, 06:04 PM   #26
Rinkon
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Jul 2018
Posts: 23

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
I'm not been able tu run few commands at my Ubuntu. Synaptic is one of them. Apparently, the mirror that is configured in my installation is not working, and I will not try to modifiy it by now.

I think that, although the drivers or kernel modules could be messed up, the Xserver starts to show problems after I modify the xorg.conf. If the xrandr output can't be a solution, I guess that a good xorg.conf configuration would solve the problem, the broken Ubuntu as the 3 monitors question.

In my opinion, I think that what I need now would be a xorg.conf direction.
 
Old 07-13-2018, 06:30 PM   #27
Mill J
Member
 
Registered: Feb 2017
Location: 127.0.0.1 Sweet 127.0.0.1
Distribution: Void, LFS,Tahrpup, Quirky on Rpi and many others
Posts: 845
Blog Entries: 2

Rep: Reputation: 302Reputation: 302Reputation: 302Reputation: 302
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rinkon View Post
In my opinion, I think that what I need now would be a xorg.conf direction.
Highly possible. Let us know how it goes.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
configure 3 monitors on Ubuntu and Kali Rinkon Linux - Desktop 1 07-05-2018 09:13 AM
Nvidia Geforce Gt710 video card do not sign two monitors on Kali Linux? zarakike Linux - Hardware 2 05-16-2018 05:41 AM
VGA HDMI adapter to run 2 additional monitors with Kali? MrsCowher Linux - Hardware 8 12-13-2013 11:20 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Desktop

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration