LinuxQuestions.org
Download your favorite Linux distribution at LQ ISO.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - Installation
User Name
Password
Slackware - Installation This forum is for the discussion of installation issues with Slackware.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 08-04-2018, 10:26 AM   #1
glava
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2018
Posts: 4

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
No EFI partition found when installing Slackware14.2-64


Hello all, could you please help me with the following problem?
I have a Thinkpad with a 256GB NVMe which had Win10 pre-installed. Eventually I grew tired of the Windows so I decided to delete it and make a fresh install of Slackware. I did the following:
-Made a bootable ISO with the Slackware ISO
-Disabled secure boot
-Since the laptop uses UEFI and the partition table is GPT I used cgdisk to make my partitions
-I deleted everything including the existing ESP.
-I made an 100 MB ESP (EF00), I have also tried this with 500 MB and 1G,
same result; 2G swap partition (8200); the rest is for the root partition (8300).

Installation appears to have run smoothly except for one problem - the dialog telling me that an ESP is found does not appear at all (as seen here). When the installation is finished and I reboot, Slackware does not boot, it immediately goes to the GNU GRUB screen again, selecting the SSD to boot does nothing.

I have read threads about other problems concerning EFI and SSD but I'm not sure if they are related directly to my problem.

Thank you in advance.

Last edited by glava; 08-08-2018 at 12:39 PM. Reason: broken link
 
Old 08-06-2018, 10:03 AM   #2
jostber
Member
 
Registered: Jul 2001
Location: Skien, Norway
Distribution: Slackware 14.2 64-bit
Posts: 457

Rep: Reputation: 142Reputation: 142
Can you post the output from gdisk?

Quote:
gdisk -l /dev/sda
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-06-2018, 10:18 AM   #3
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 2,483

Rep: Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370
Did you format the efi partition as fat32 before running setup?
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-06-2018, 10:43 AM   #4
Didier Spaier
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slint64-14.2.1 on Lenovo Thinkpad W520
Posts: 8,581

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
The genuine Slackware installer for Slackware64-14.2 doesn't support installation on NVMe drives, but I have provided a workaround, see this post.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-07-2018, 01:10 PM   #5
glava
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2018
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by jostber View Post
Can you post the output from gdisk?
Not sda but nvme0n1, screenshot attached, this is after installation

Quote:
Originally Posted by colorpurple21859 View Post
Did you format the efi partition as fat32 before running setup?
I don't think you can format it before setup, at least I haven't found out how.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Didier Spaier View Post
The genuine Slackware installer for Slackware64-14.2 doesn't support installation on NVMe drives, but I have provided a workaround, see this post.
I tried it but the result was the same, sorry.
Ran your installer, which was on the /dev/sdc1 USB, it detected slackware on the other usb (/dev/sdc2)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20180807_200411_8-800x593.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	119.0 KB
ID:	28357  

Last edited by glava; 08-07-2018 at 02:02 PM.
 
Old 08-07-2018, 03:33 PM   #6
Didier Spaier
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slint64-14.2.1 on Lenovo Thinkpad W520
Posts: 8,581

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by glava View Post
I tried it but the result was the same, sorry.
Ran your installer, which was on the /dev/sdc1 USB, it detected slackware on the other usb (/dev/sdc2)
I don't understand what is this other usb. Is it the Slackware installer with all packages? If yes, please try again, this time wait until the SOURCE step before plugging in the Slackware USB stick. Also, before typing setup please type this command and give us the results:
Code:
lsblk -l -o name,type,size,parttype,fstype
Also, I don't understand how my installer can be on /dev/sdc1 and Slackware on /dev/sdc2 as /dev/sdc1 and /dev/sdc2 are two partitions of the same device /dev/sdc.

Last, if you have other drives (as it looks weird to have a device named /sd/sdc without others named /dev/sda and/dev/sdb), please tell us what they are.

Oh and I almost forgot: please check that you have a file or directory named /sys/firmware/efi before running setup. If not, that would mean that the machine booted in Legacy mode, not in EFI mode, in which case the installer doesn't look for an EFI partition.

PS the link you provided in your first post is broken. Could you please fix it?

Last edited by Didier Spaier; 08-07-2018 at 04:03 PM. Reason: 3 paragraphs added.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-07-2018, 04:09 PM   #7
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 2,483

Rep: Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370
Quote:
I don't think you can format it before setup, at least I haven't found out how.
Code:
mkfs.vfat /dev/sda1

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 08-07-2018 at 08:46 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-08-2018, 06:20 AM   #8
laprjns
Member
 
Registered: Oct 2005
Location: Connecticut USA
Distribution: SalixOS
Posts: 185

Rep: Reputation: 91
You need to format your ESP partition. Although you did designate it as type EF00, it still maintains the file system of your old Window 10 install,which is not FAT. The Slackware installer has a bug that does detects the EF00 partition but only checks to see if it is formatted, but does not distinguish which file system it is formatted as. Later on the installer fails to install elilo because the ESP is not formatted as FAT file system. So format the ESP before you run the installer:

Code:
mkfs.vfat /dev/nvme0n1p1
then use Didier installer to install Slackware.

Last edited by laprjns; 08-08-2018 at 06:56 PM. Reason: edit to correct partition block device name
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-08-2018, 02:26 PM   #9
glava
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2018
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Didier Spaier View Post
I don't understand what is this other usb. Is it the Slackware installer with all packages? If yes, please try again, this time wait until the SOURCE step before plugging in the Slackware USB stick. Also, before typing setup please type this command and give us the results:
Code:
lsblk -l -o name,type,size,parttype,fstype
Also, I don't understand how my installer can be on /dev/sdc1 and Slackware on /dev/sdc2 as /dev/sdc1 and /dev/sdc2 are two partitions of the same device /dev/sdc.

Last, if you have other drives (as it looks weird to have a device named /sd/sdc without others named /dev/sda and/dev/sdb), please tell us what they are.

Oh and I almost forgot: please check that you have a file or directory named /sys/firmware/efi before running setup. If not, that would mean that the machine booted in Legacy mode, not in EFI mode, in which case the installer doesn't look for an EFI partition.

PS the link you provided in your first post is broken. Could you please fix it?
There are 2 usb's - the slackware installer and your installer and they are sda and sdc or sdb and sdc, so that was a mistake on my side.

Anyway, I have a sys/firmware/efi folder filled with whatnot, the output from lsblk is in the 1st attachment - sdb is the flash drive with your installer.

I tried installing the way you explained it - with and without formatting the ESP beforehand. Formatting the ESP (mkfs.vfat) changed my disk label to dos - 2nd screenshot. When I started the setup I received this message - 3rd screenshot, so I quit. I changed it back to gpt with parted.

The furthest I've got is when I didn't format the ESP - it asked me to format it before starting the installation - 4th screenshot.

Everything ran smoothly, after installing the packages it asked me if I wanted to make Slackware directly bootable - here I've tried both options - if I refuse then everything is as it was before, nothing happens when I boot the SSD. If I accept - Slackware now appears as a bootable device, but it boots me in console mode (not GUI) - 5th screenshot.

I've fixed the link.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	scr1.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	138.6 KB
ID:	28361   Click image for larger version

Name:	scr2.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	118.4 KB
ID:	28362   Click image for larger version

Name:	scr3.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	70.3 KB
ID:	28363   Click image for larger version

Name:	scr5.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	68.0 KB
ID:	28364   Click image for larger version

Name:	scr8.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	102.9 KB
ID:	28365  

 
Old 08-08-2018, 02:47 PM   #10
Didier Spaier
LQ Addict
 
Registered: Nov 2008
Location: Paris, France
Distribution: Slint64-14.2.1 on Lenovo Thinkpad W520
Posts: 8,581

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by glava View Post
If I accept - Slackware now appears as a bootable device, but it boots me in console mode (not GUI) - 5th screenshot.
That's not an issue. When logged in as root, first create a regular user typing the command adduser and answering questions (when asked, do accept to make this user member of additional groups as proposed to get a functional desktop). Then logout typing exit or pressing Ctrl+d, login as regular user and type startx to start the graphical environment you chose during installation (and that yo can also change typing xwmconfig as regular user).

Last edited by Didier Spaier; 08-08-2018 at 02:48 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-08-2018, 03:20 PM   #11
colorpurple21859
Senior Member
 
Registered: Jan 2008
Location: florida panhandle
Distribution: slackware64-current, puppy, ubuntu
Posts: 2,483

Rep: Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370Reputation: 370
If you want to boot into gui edit /etc/inittab and change run level from 3 to 4 after adding user and user. It isn't good to login gui as root

Last edited by colorpurple21859; 08-08-2018 at 03:22 PM.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 08-08-2018, 03:23 PM   #12
glava
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Aug 2018
Posts: 4

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by Didier Spaier View Post
That's not an issue. When logged in as root, first create a regular user typing the command adduser and answering questions (when asked, do accept to make this user member of additional groups as proposed to get a functional desktop). Then logout typing exit or pressing Ctrl+d, login as regular user and type startx to start the graphical environment you chose during installation (and that yo can also change typing xwmconfig as regular user).

Quote:
Originally Posted by colorpurple21859 View Post
If you want to boot into gui edit /etc/inittab and change run level from 3 to 4 after adding user and user. It isn't good to login gui as root

I've now entered the graphical environment!
Thank you for the fast replies and for all your help!

Last edited by glava; 08-08-2018 at 03:24 PM.
 
Old 08-14-2018, 01:13 PM   #13
slac-in-the-box
Member
 
Registered: Mar 2010
Location: oregon
Distribution: slackware64-14.2
Posts: 268

Rep: Reputation: 109Reputation: 109
Be sure to mark the thread as "solved," so others who are willing to help don't have to read through it to find out you no longer need any Glad you got her going though.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] Installing Grub2 in Slackware14.1 offgridguy Slackware 2 09-01-2016 11:26 AM
Installing and making Wine Working on Slackware14 and x64 codeman1234 Slackware 8 09-03-2013 07:44 PM
[SOLVED] Typo found in Slackware14 installer elesmod Slackware 1 08-07-2013 04:23 AM
Partition entry not found when installing LILO Infinity8 Linux - Newbie 1 02-21-2013 12:54 PM
Help: installing Fedora 2: partition not found ? leduytien Linux - Software 3 10-16-2004 06:10 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware > Slackware - Installation

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration