LinuxQuestions.org
Visit Jeremy's Blog.
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware > Linux - Embedded & Single-board computer
User Name
Password
Linux - Embedded & Single-board computer This forum is for the discussion of Linux on both embedded devices and single-board computers (such as the Raspberry Pi, BeagleBoard and PandaBoard). Discussions involving Arduino, plug computers and other micro-controller like devices are also welcome.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 05-16-2019, 11:55 AM   #1
kahraman1285
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2015
Posts: 15

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Power Up Vme boards without backplane


Hello

How can I power up vme single board computer 64x?
I have Sbs VR9 board . I powered inP1 connector.
Pins:
+3.3 V
+5V
+12V
-12V
GROUNd

Board have harddisk anf hdd is working but board doesnt working.

How can I start,power up vme board without VME chassis(backplane)
P1 connector :

http://www.interfacebus.com/Design_VME64x_P1.html
 
Old 05-18-2019, 07:51 AM   #2
michaelk
Moderator
 
Registered: Aug 2002
Posts: 18,628

Rep: Reputation: 2709Reputation: 2709Reputation: 2709Reputation: 2709Reputation: 2709Reputation: 2709Reputation: 2709Reputation: 2709Reputation: 2709Reputation: 2709Reputation: 2709
I'm not a VME expert but since no one has replied yet I would guess that without bus termination the board may not boot. There could be other requirements specific to your board.
 
Old 05-18-2019, 04:54 PM   #3
kahraman1285
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Nov 2015
Posts: 15

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaelk View Post
I'm not a VME expert but since no one has replied yet I would guess that without bus termination the board may not boot. There could be other requirements specific to your board.
İ think that i should have to power +5v to STANDBY pin. İ will test next week.
When i power these pins (pins names up) harddisk is working display card is working. Only cpu is not working.
 
Old 05-24-2019, 01:00 PM   #4
business_kid
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Jan 2006
Location: Ireland
Distribution: Slackware & Android
Posts: 10,167

Rep: Reputation: 1122Reputation: 1122Reputation: 1122Reputation: 1122Reputation: 1122Reputation: 1122Reputation: 1122Reputation: 1122Reputation: 1122
Being a hardware guy, I would advise against it. It's an accident waiting to happen.
 
  


Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IBM x3500M4 backplane 94Y5978 as a mobile rack in any other casing? wongdg Linux - Hardware 0 03-05-2013 02:44 PM
Help.. supermicro, backplane, multilane, 3ware raid problemchild200 Linux - Hardware 2 08-17-2008 01:49 AM
LXer: StarTech.com 5.25" SATA/SAS Backplane LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 04-22-2008 01:41 AM
LXer: Multi-processor x86 VME system boasts real-time Linux LXer Syndicated Linux News 0 02-08-2007 12:03 PM
Hyperthreading - problems on dual Xeon VME board grayd Linux - General 1 07-27-2005 04:16 PM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Hardware > Linux - Embedded & Single-board computer

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:16 PM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Facebook: linuxquestions Google+: linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration