LinuxQuestions.org
Help answer threads with 0 replies.
Home Forums Tutorials Articles Register
Go Back   LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware
User Name
Password
Slackware This Forum is for the discussion of Slackware Linux.

Notices


Reply
  Search this Thread
Old 04-26-2019, 01:03 AM   #1
shai-hulud
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2019
Posts: 7

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
How to add terminal mode booting to boot entry without modification of /etc/inittab


Hello.

I'm a newbie on Linux and Slackware.
My default runlevel is 4, grahpical login.
I would like to know how to add terminal login to boot entry like edit /etc/lilo.conf so that I can choose options before booting.
I'm not sure if I can make it as I modify /etc/inittab

*. Slackware version: 14.2 64bit.
 
Old 04-26-2019, 01:27 AM   #2
ponce
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Aug 2004
Location: Pisa, Italy
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 7,109

Rep: Reputation: 4179Reputation: 4179Reputation: 4179Reputation: 4179Reputation: 4179Reputation: 4179Reputation: 4179Reputation: 4179Reputation: 4179Reputation: 4179Reputation: 4179
hi shai-hulud, welcome to LQ!

you use a default runlevel of 4 and let's say your lilo.conf entry is something like
Code:
image = /boot/vmlinuz
  root = /dev/vda1
  initrd = /boot/initrd.gz
  label = Linux
  read-only
you can append the runlevel to the lilo command line either manually (at the lilo prompt boot with "Linux 3") or creating another option like
Code:
image = /boot/vmlinuz
  root = /dev/vda1
  append=" 3"
  initrd = /boot/initrd.gz
  label = Linux_console
  read-only
 
6 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-26-2019, 08:50 AM   #3
upnort
Senior Member
 
Registered: Oct 2014
Distribution: Slackware
Posts: 1,893

Rep: Reputation: 1162Reputation: 1162Reputation: 1162Reputation: 1162Reputation: 1162Reputation: 1162Reputation: 1162Reputation: 1162Reputation: 1162
Quote:
you can append the runlevel to the lilo command line either manually (at the lilo prompt boot with "Linux 3") or creating another option like
Perhaps this could be the default in future Slackware releases.
 
Old 04-26-2019, 09:09 AM   #4
hazel
LQ Guru
 
Registered: Mar 2016
Location: Harrow, UK
Distribution: LFS, AntiX, Slackware
Posts: 7,613
Blog Entries: 19

Rep: Reputation: 4460Reputation: 4460Reputation: 4460Reputation: 4460Reputation: 4460Reputation: 4460Reputation: 4460Reputation: 4460Reputation: 4460Reputation: 4460Reputation: 4460
Quote:
Originally Posted by upnort View Post
Perhaps this could be the default in future Slackware releases.
I thought it already was.
 
Old 04-26-2019, 11:51 AM   #5
TSquaredF
Member
 
Registered: Dec 2005
Location: "The South Coast of Texas"
Distribution: Slackware64-current
Posts: 564

Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by hazel View Post
I thought it already was.
Of course, it is. I have been using an append of "4" for many years to boot into X & no append to boot to command line. Works great & doesn't involve modifying /etc/inittab.
 
1 members found this post helpful.
Old 04-26-2019, 08:30 PM   #6
shai-hulud
LQ Newbie
 
Registered: Apr 2019
Posts: 7

Original Poster
Rep: Reputation: Disabled
Quote:
Originally Posted by ponce View Post
hi shai-hulud, welcome to LQ!

you use a default runlevel of 4 and let's say your lilo.conf entry is something like
Code:
image = /boot/vmlinuz
  root = /dev/vda1
  initrd = /boot/initrd.gz
  label = Linux
  read-only
you can append the runlevel to the lilo command line either manually (at the lilo prompt boot with "Linux 3") or creating another option like
Code:
image = /boot/vmlinuz
  root = /dev/vda1
  append=" 3"
  initrd = /boot/initrd.gz
  label = Linux_console
  read-only
It is exactly what I'm looking for. Many Thanks!
 
  


Reply



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
/etc/inittab modification prasanth.george Linux - Newbie 7 10-08-2012 12:38 PM
How to respawn a service, using respawn entry in /etc/inittab sampappachan_nyc Linux - Server 1 10-05-2010 04:58 PM
Slackware 12 Not Booting bad inittab entry dfields Linux - Newbie 7 02-21-2008 12:49 PM
How To Edit My /etc/inittab To Boot Into VGA console mode (non-X) CAL Linux - Newbie 3 04-06-2004 07:06 AM

LinuxQuestions.org > Forums > Linux Forums > Linux - Distributions > Slackware

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:48 AM.

Main Menu
Advertisement
My LQ
Write for LQ
LinuxQuestions.org is looking for people interested in writing Editorials, Articles, Reviews, and more. If you'd like to contribute content, let us know.
Main Menu
Syndicate
RSS1  Latest Threads
RSS1  LQ News
Twitter: @linuxquestions
Open Source Consulting | Domain Registration